me

Own It!

I just signed up for a free online course on Time Ownership. By completing this week-long course, I will – among other things – have greater clarity on my values, overcome procrastination, yet have time for all the things that are important to me.

So, the first email asked me to answer 3 questions:

  1. What is my biggest challenge when it comes to Time Ownership?

    Mindfulness. I tend to think about work when I’m home and vice versa. If I can be fully present at work and at home, I think I would have better ownership of my time.

  2. Why do you want better control of your time?

    I feel like my time isn’t mine. I constantly feel like I’m trading time for money, which means I have a tendency to focus on work when I should be focusing on myself and my family. I have a tendency to allow work anxieties to bully me into prioritising work. I end up resenting work when I do love it and find fulfilment through it. But if I’m being completely honest, I do feel like a slave to work 80% of the time. I also have this limiting belief that having a well-paying job will not allow me to have a life.

  3. What are your top 3 values (what matters to you)? Is there a disconnect between your current behaviour and those 3 values?

    My top 3 values are myself, my family and my career. I won’t say that there is a disconnect but rather there is a competition between these priorities. Priority No 3 tends to dominate Priorities number 1 and 2.

    I look forward to the next email and learning more about Time Ownership. I know that I always have a choice. No one is pointing a gun to my head to carry on living the way that I do, especially if I am unhappy with the situation. I may not have complete control of the situation but I do have control of how I respond to those situations. I hope to learn to have better responses to them.

Leave a Reply

