me

Expect the Best and Get It

I have been reading a highly insightful book this past few weeks. It’s called The Power of Positive Thinking by Dr Norman Vincent Peale, which I picked up from Bangsar Village II’s Borders Express bookstore.

I bought it because the summary on the back cover said it was released pre-The Secret era. A book that (may have) inspired the phenomenon? I had to pick it up!

I just finished Chapter 7: Expect the Best and Get It and it’s probably my favourite one so far. I have read about the concept of “acting as if” (behaving as if you already have what you want) before, but I never fully grasped it until now. The idea is simple: if you expect the day to be wonderful, (chances are) it will be. Expect everything to go south, and the day may just be as dreadful as you imagined.

After reading the chapter, I tried some of the tips on myself. The author provided many Christian-based affirmations, so I worked around that. I think things have turned out well for me.

In the morning, as I walk to the train station or to the office, I silently repeat affirmations such as:

  • I expect the day to be nothing less than wonderful.
  • I expect myself to be more kind, compassionate, loving, understanding, supportive, magnanimous and selfless today. I expect to receive the same from others today because I attract what I give.
  • I expect meetings to be short and sweet yet productive.
  • I expect today to be filled with laughter, merriment, happiness, forgiveness, closeness, love.
  • And so on. You get the drift.

The verdict?

I did have a great day today. It was filled with laughter, love, support, kindness, merriment, forgiveness, appreciation. There were probably some sad things about today too, but I was too busy focusing on the things that did work out as I had expected.

By expecting the best for me, I end up having plenty to be thankful for.

  • For the first time in many months, my bank balance is much more that it ever was at the end of the month. I did expect to save up some pocket money for the trip to Seoul in November and I’m happy it is working out as planned.
  • I have been receiving lots of lunch treats lately.
  • I’ve got a seat on the train all the way to and from work far more times than I had to stand this past two weeks.
  • I’m discovering great music on Spotify through some random playlist and I have truly enjoyed the new songs I chance upon.

There is a part of me that is cynical of this whole “Expect and You Shall Receive” philosophy. But if there is truth in the concept of “self-fulfilling prophecy”, then we might as well expect things to go well instead of to go badly. If things go badly when we expect it, why not expect the best?

So, wake up each morning and expect for your day to go well, smoothly, beautifully. No harm done.

Leave a Reply

