me

Press Reset

If you’ve been following my previous posts, you will know that I have been very mindful about keeping a positive mindset. Throughout the day, I focus on sending and attracting love, kindness, compassion, etc. It has been working well to the point that my husband noticed my zen state and even commented on it.

But life has a habit of throwing the wrench in the works. Last Thursday and Friday were particularly challenging for me. In a span of two days, I had to pick up someone else’s mess, got an earful from my superior, and was bugged endlessly by a particular “client”. As much as I know that I need to be patient, and be the bigger person – to attract the same – I struggled to keep the fantasy of punching someone in the face or restrain myself from being snappy, sarcastic and combative.

It was also around this time that a good friend who has been having a hard time at work asked me if “the Universe” is giving her a taste of her own medicine for something she did in the past. Going by all the literature that I’ve read on the subject of “Law of Attraction”, we attract what we give out. What you give, you get back. Karma. Going by that logic, the hard times that we experience are our own doing – knowingly or unknowingly.

Truth be told, I don’t know if “bad” things that happen to us are meant to be lessons or punishment. But I do know that things happen for a reason.

In this case, I choose to press the “reset” button. Law of Attraction tells you to forgive yourself, release the past and start fresh. So, I choose to press that reset button and start new. I choose to look at things from the lense of “love”. That means, I pick to see the silver lining, to see the glass as half full instead of half empty.

Perhaps those “bad things” are opportunities for us to rise to the challenge. An opportunity to be the bigger person rather than the person who insists on winning and being right. What if our stock of pahala is diminishing and being patient with so-called difficult people is our chance to win that pahala lottery? Shouldn’t we hang on a little longer, then?

As my favourite quote goes: “It’s not the load that breaks you down, it’s the way you carry it”. Hardship does not need to be a burden if you look at it differently. Sure, this is easier said than done. But you know what? Nothing worth chasing is ever easy.

So I’m going to take my own advise and apply what I have learned through all my reading. The moment that person or situation gives you grief, pause, take a deep breath and press reset. Acknowledge the issue you are facing, forgive yourself and the “offending party”, and press reset.

Instead of cursing the person, istighfar and send them love or “doa” yang baik-baik. In the privacy of your own mind, imagine their faces, imagine holding their hands, looking them in the eye and feeling the satisfaction of being the bigger person for forgiving them. Imagine their jaws agape as they stand there speechless because never in a million years did they expect you to forgive them. When you forgive them, you take away their power over you. Isn’t that satisfying?

So, I’m going to take my own advise and do this. Every time I feel like bashing someone in the head, I’ll remember to press pause and reset.

 

Leave a Reply

