me

You Seem Calm These Days

Every morning, my husband would drop me off at the LRT station. I would give him a peck on the cheek before I get out of the car.

This morning, before I could give him my goodbye kiss, he told me that I seem very relaxed these days. That I don’t seem tense at all.

I was so amused by what he said that I ended up leaving my phone in the car! LOL.

I only realised it when I wanted to whip out my phone from my bag to read the Quran and also to blog about what he said. I was about to panic, but I calmed down soon enough because I knew my mobile phone would be in the car. I got a lecture from my husband about being careless over Google Talk, but I was still zen throughout the day.

I truly did not expect my husband to make that remark. For him to even notice. But I’m glad that he mentioned it because, for me, it’s proof that being deliberate about having Loving Kindness thoughts first thing in the morning helps.

I have read about water being a good conduit for healing. That’s why Zamzam water has healing properties, and also why healers use plain water as “penawar” or remedy. So, I use my morning shower time to think positive thoughts and wish for a blessed day. While under the shower, I list out all the things that I am grateful for in my life and wish for good things for myself and my loved ones.

Generally, I wish for the following things:

For myself and everyone who knows me to be safe, happy and healthy.

To be kind, loving, considerate, patient, compassionate, selfless, and magnanimous.

To have peace and serenity.

To forgive themselves, forgive others and be forgiven.

To have abundance from expected and unexpected sources.

To love ourselves/themselves just the way we are.

For everything to be well in our world.

After I get out of the shower, I recite some zikir to raise my positive vibrations as I get ready for work. The whole idea is to distract myself from the self-pity of “oh no, I have to go to work” and focus on willing for a wonderful day ahead instead.

If my husband noticed me being zen in the morning, then I think I’m on the right track.

I encourage anyone reading this to make a habit of this. I mean, what do you have to lose?

 

Leave a Reply

