me

Can I get a little bit of love?

My commute to work takes 40 minutes. As the NCT-U rap line goes, “That’s a long ass ride”. So, naturally I want to make the most of that commute to set the day right for me.

In 2016, I developed a habit of reading the Quran and translation all the way to the work. In 2017, I decided to use all of that time to do more things. So, now I start the journey with my usual Quran and translation reading. I make sure I read not less than 10 ayat. Since two days ago, I started doing a guided Loving Kindness Meditation. The voice of the guide is so soothing, it tends to put me to sleep. But since I’m on a moving train, I won’t completely doze off. I think that half-asleep, half-awake state is the most ideal state for meditating as it taps into your unconscious mind. If I have more time, I will read or write down some affirmations. It’s written in the past tense to give the impression that it has happened. That it is a done deal and not wishful thinking.

It’s obviously too early to tell if this new routine will bring any impact, but I have benefited from my Quran reading immensely. More of then not, it sets my day right. Everything seems to fall into place better on days that I invest in some Quran reading time.

I’m not sure if this is purely a coincidence, but the first day I tried the Loving Kindness Meditation, things at work went surprisingly well. I’m not going to go into details, but moods at the office were surprisingly calm. There were no condescension or sarcasm. In fact, there was a lot of patience, understanding and support being thrown around. It was so phenomenal! Definitely a rare, stellar day.

But, as you know, life tends to happens. Shit will go down and egos will be bruised, etc etc. But I still see value in doing the Loving Kindness Meditation daily simply because it increases positive vibrations and it’s similar to praying for the well-being of another. How is that not useful? Besides, it helps me attract more of what I want. If I want to attract compassion from people, I better start showing compassion to others, right?

Well, watch this space as I make more observations of my morning routine.

UPDATE (10 February 2017): I did a LKM at home around noon today because I had 20 minutes to spare. Then at about 5pm, a colleague who has been having a rough time at work texted to say that one of the bosses who had been giving her a hard time asked her out for lunch and even paid for it. She wrote, and I quote: “Surprisingly, (she) seems to be nice and in a good mood today”. Coincidence or not, I’m definitely going to make LKM a permanent part of my daily routine.

Leave a Reply

