The Power of 10 Minutes

Ten minutes doesn’t seem very long. Until you time yourself doing something for 10 minutes.

I got the inspiration from an article, that I can’t remember where I read. It’s also partly inspired by Neen James who says, “people don’t have an hour anymore (these days), but (they) do have 15 minutes. And Neen recommends that people set the timer for 15 minutes and crank up on work.

As it turns out, 15 minutes is too long for me. Here is why: After two days of doing work or chores in 10-minute bursts, I realized that I have what I call “an overestimated sense of time”.

What feels like 10 minutes to me is actually only 5 minutes. That is great news, I guess, because by the time I feel like I have been at something for 10 minutes, it has only been 5. But that also means that I’d be “exhausted” after working for 10 minutes, because it feels like I have been working for 15. My mind would wander off before the timer buzzes.

So I have been timing myself as such lately, and seem to be doing pretty good. I haven’t reached my desired level of productivity, but I have been able to finish tasks and cross them off my list — thanks to this method.

I’ll keep you posted on how it is working out for me after a week. Watch this space!

UPDATE! (Saturday, 2 May 2015)

I haven’t been timing myself of late because I get so overwhelmed by work that I don’t have time to reach for the phone or even go to the online timer. But a Korean YouTube vlogger reminded me of the benefits of timing myself  because she bought a timer to time herself studying — so I am keen to start again. In fact, I just set the timer for 1 hour for my laundry. It should ring any minute now. Three minutes left to be exact. Later!

Leave a Reply

