What have I done for me lately?

Something horrible happened today.

I had tea with my colleagues and a former colleague, who is in the country for the holiday season, earlier. I haven’t seen her in easily one and half years and naturally, after updating all of us with what has happened in her life, she started asking what’s up with our lives. MY life.

The tea is not the horrible thing. It was lovely catching up with old friends. What’s horrible is that I couldn’t come up with a good answer to her question.

All I could come up with was: “nothing much. Same old, same old.”

I wasn’t being modest. At least I wasn’t trying to be. I just honestly could not think of anything to update her on.

Other people had so many things to show for last year: a completed Master’s thesis; a house under renovation; a condo waiting to be renovated; a new job etc. What good news did I have to boast about?

Sure I have a new Torch 9800 which I’m addicted to; I’ve been watching a lot of American TV series and I got really good at archery on Sony PS3 Move. There was the 10 days that I spent in France. But I wouldn’t really call these “achievements”😛

My former colleague’s question reminded me of these seven questions. Question No 3 sounds a little something like this:

What are your biggest accomplishments this year?
Accomplishments here refer to any results you are proud of. It can include business achievements, career, relationships, health & fitness, and more.

For some people this question can be confronting, especially if they have been living on auto-pilot. Yet it’s extremely important because it makes us take a cold, hard look at how we’ve been spending our time. Did we put it to good use? Have we been working on our Quadrant 2 tasks? It helps us sieve out the unimportant and zoom down to what matters.

When I first asked myself this question years ago, I had trouble coming up with meaningful answers. It made me realize that the bulk of my achievements that year were for my employer, whereas I had done nothing for myself. It gave me a wake up call, and from there I became a person on a mission. I became in tune with my personal dreams in life, and I was singly focused on bringing them to life. I knew in my heart of hearts that I want to help others grow and be their best selves, so I worked in that direction. In less than a year I had shed away my previous job and was pursuing my dream. By the next year, I had already turned it into a real, full time career. This year is my 2nd year and it’s my best performing year yet. This happened because this question made me conscious of what I wanted to achieve in my life.

The part which I bolded and italicised sounds eerily true to me. What have I accomplished for MYSELF? No wonder I have been procrastinating on answering these seven questions! I’m afraid of the answers that I might find.

If this is not a wake up call, I don’t know what is. This is definitely a sign that I need to seriously look into the kinds of projects that I embark on in 2011. More books; more blog entries; more family gatherings; more sleep.

Speaking of sleep, it’s close to midnight and I need my eight hours. I’ll see you soon.

 

2 thoughts on “What have I done for me lately?

Leave a Reply

