Six hours

Truth be told, I don’t see much point in blogging these days. I really blame Twitter for that and my increasing workload at the office.

I find it tough trying to find the motivation, passion and time to blog when I have spent 8 hours writing at the office. When you write for a living and it drains all the energy you have, the last thing you want to do when you come home is write some more.

Having said that, I do see the value of keeping a blog — if only as a place for me to rant. Although I’m pretty sure many people who used to read this blog ardently have stopped visiting after months go by without a new entry. I don’t blame them. I have stopped visiting people’s blogs because of lack of time. So what’s stopping others from doing the same to me?

But lately, I have done a lot of thinking about the way I spend my time. I have a sneaky feeling that work consumes it. And I am beginning to resent that.

But instead of playing the victim, I’d much rather take the bull by the horns. Because I’m sure I’m not the only one whose work responsibilities never seem to stop.I CAN’T be the only one! And I’m sure there is a way to dealing with this busy, stressful lifestyle without going crazy!

I think the answer lies in gaining control over my time. There are 24 hours in a day. Most people spend 8 hours working and another 8 hours sleeping. So, we’re left with 8 hours of so-called free time. I get at least 7 hours of sleep and I spend 8 hours at work, 1 hour getting ready for work and 2 hours commuting (roughly). So that’s already 18 hours spent. So that leaves me with another 6 hours to myself.

I’d love to say that I have more time for myself on the weekends but the truth is, the nature of my work is such that if I truly have free weekends, I would be screwed because I would have so much catching up to do and may not have that 6 free hours to myself at the end of the day.

I do believe that there is no shortcut to success. If you want to get ahead, you have to make sacrifices and put in a lot of effort and time into it. But there has to be a balance. And that balance should come from the remaining 6 hours. The 7 hours of sleep is to help me recharge physically. The 6 free hours, on the other hand, should, make me feel rested and rejuvenated spiritually and emotionally.

The sad thing is, I honestly can’t tell you how I spend my free time. I guess I spend it mostly on the Internet — just mindlessly browsing the Internet, watching YouTube videos and the series that I download. As much as these activities are enjoyable, I can’t say they fulfill my spiritual or emotional needs.

I’m still searching for ways to better fill my precious 6 hours. My ME time. The hours that would help me grow as a person, really “live” my life instead of going through the motions on auto pilot.

I’ll keep you posted once I figure out what is really worth my 6 hours.

2 thoughts on “Six hours

  1. Babe, I agree that it’s difficult to blog these days. For me, personally, I think it’s more sebab I dah malas. I have been blogging since 2003.. so sometimes I think that it’s time to just stop blogging.

    But then I will be reminded that despite what people say about Twitter, nothing beats blogging. Call me a narcissist… but it’s so fun to read back the stuff that I did years ago. And it’s a nice surprise to know how you’ve changed. You should read my earlier blogs.. so drama.. ngan fenfeeling segala. I would like to think that I’m more matured now.

    Personally, I don’t tweet.. altho I read tweets to check on the latest news (yes, there’s still a little journo in me.. heh). I think tweets ni lebih kepada “syok sendiri”. I mean, honestly, I don’t really care if Khairy is attending a dinner with his Pemuda Umno.. kan? Or if Jack is having salad for lunch.. hahah…

    Okay. I’m just weird in that sense.. cuz I’m not into tweeting.. altho I find it useful to read news alerts from BBC and NYTimes (especially because my job requires me to know what’s going on worldwide..)

    But yes Suz… I check your blog regularly. I do want to know how’s life at your side of town. I can’t keep up with you on tweeter because there’s no “history” in tweeter…

    That’s just what I think. Blogging is still the coolest tool to share your feelings with friends..🙂

    Missing you loads. Hope to catch up with you soon. Take care..

  2. First off thanks for linking the http://Adam-Lambert.org website. Second, yea it is a struggle to manage time for everyone. I would love to, as a good example, spend more time blogging about Adam but it is very difficult with all my goals and things I want to achieve. And from rushing to do everything sometimes I’m exhausted on the weekends when I really have time to do stuff🙂 BUT, it is all about willpower and pushing oneself to achieve those goals at the end of the days because to me, happines lies within achieving my goals.

    Fernando (Dreamsound) Glam #1

Leave a Reply

