The end of my money woes?

Recently, I was stressing about my credit card debts. I had this fear that it will take me at least another year to keep it below RM500. To make myself feel better, I started googling tips on how I can save money while settling my debt.

One of the articles I found suggested paying a fixed amount to the credit card(s) on a weekly basis.

I thought it was a pretty good advice. After all, if I save RM1 a day, I can get RM30 by the end of the month. To save RM50, I would need to save about RM7/day. The author suggested paying RM50 a week to steadily pay off RM200 a month to a card.

So that was what I did yesterday, as soon as I got my mid-month pay.

It was a painful experience because I am one of those people who would avoid parting with my hard-earned money so that I have cash in hand for things like food or petrol or online shopping (LOL).

But I knew it was the right thing to do. So yesterday, RM50 went to my Visa and another RM50 to my MasterCard. And that is just Week 1. So far so good. At least I made the first step.

I was also thinking that I could try saving RM20 a week. Nothing too ambitious. By the end of the week, I’d have saved RM80 that could go towards paying one of the cards, maybe. I think that’s manageable.

Okay, enough talking about paying bills because that is just depressing. Later!

 

 

Leave a Reply

