Perfection or personal best?

It has been a fast-paced and trying week for me. But one thing I can be proud of – I accomplished a lot of things that I had set out to do.

Still, it wasn’t a perfect week.

I had a lot of problems with the piece that I was writing. It was straight-forward but there were too many details to mention, so it got confusing. When you’re confused, you tend to make mistakes. It happens even to the best of us

Finishing that job by Wednesday was doubly hard when I had to an appointment I couldn’t miss 15km away on the same day. Yet I managed.

I can honestly say I did my best with the amount of time that I had. The result was not as great as I had wanted it to be but I’m happy because I did what I could with what I had.

If anyone has a problem with it, then it’s theirs — not mine.

As far as I’m concerned, everyday is a battle so naturally, you win some and you lose some. You can’t win them all so you have to choose your battle. The piece was probably a battle I wasn’t meant to conquer.

If I could do it all over again, I probably would but I can’t… so I won’t. And we all just have to deal with it.

Now that I have that out of my system, I can move on to other more important things in life, like family.

I just spent more than an hour tying little ribbons to sandalwood fans which will be wedding favours at my cousin-in-law’s wedding in Dec. Arts and crafts is not my forte, so I struggled to do it. I’m not completely happy with a lot of the ribbons I tied but if I concentrated on making them look pretty and up to standard, I will be spending 15 minutes on one fan. Not such a good idea, is it? So again, you have to put things into perspective. Perfection or getting the job done on time?

Most of the time, it’s unrealistic to aim for perfection. Personal best is the next closest thing to perfection. Personal best is not perfect but it’s good enough for me, by my standard. And I’m really down with that.

Tomorrow, I’m going to continue with that for a bit before I leave for my hometown. I need my mom or brother to help me sew my baju kurung for the wedding or rather the solemnisation ceremony. I’m going to drive back home again the following weekend to pick up the baju.

I still need to find a red/black baju for the reception. I might beg, steal or borrow that🙂

On another (random) note, I’m still pleased with Acne.org and how it is controlling my acne problem. My acne is really under control and I dare say that my skin is in its best “shape” ever.

As I’ve mentioned before, the product has not entirely stopped zits from forming on my face. But the severity has decreased. They are few in number and considerably smaller in size, to the point that they are hardly noticeable.

If you’d like to know more about the product or regimen, visit Acne.org. You have an option of practising the regimen using your product of choice — mild facial cleanser, 2.5% benzoyl peroxide and moisturiser with SPF15. Although I use my own cleanser and moisturiser (instead of the ones sold on the website), I highly recommend purchasing the Acne.org 2.5% bp. It’s the key product in my regimen.

My skin isn’t perfect but it’s the best that it has ever been in a long time. And I don’t think it’s wrong to celebrate my personal best instead of perfection.

Leave a Reply

