holiday

Bask in the warmth of the sun

I thought sitting by the beach even shaded from the hot sun at Club Med Cherating was only good for a tan that I don’t even need.

What I didn’t realise that the fresh air, sun, sea and surf were good for my health until I got back home and to the office today since Monday.

I woke up this morning with a slightly blocked nose. At the office, the cold A/C was making me sleepy especially towards the afternoon. Mind you — I didn’t even eat anything that was heavy for lunch.

To wake me up, I actually went to the 6th floor (sports centre) to get some sun on my skin without looking like a fool. I sat in the shade with my hands out in the sun to warm me up. I closed my eyes just like I did during the two-minute meditation during the 9am and 6pm yoga at CMC.

I used to think that people were exaggerating when they said that the air in the office can make the sensitive-nosed prone to the sniffles. But after three days and nights of solid fresh air, I’m beginning to think that they are right.

My boss asked me if there were any H1N1 cases at CMC. Come to think of it, I could count with one hand (actually just two fingers) the time that I heard someone sneeze or cough. Since everyone was enjoying the sun, they got enough of Vitamin D to boost their immunity. And the ample supply of fruits and water at the club made it less likely for anyone to have digestive problems or be dehydrated even though they spend ridiculous number of hours out in the sun.

You would think that the kids would come down with something having spent that many hours out in the sun. But I didn’t see any sign of sickly children. Even the one boy who had Down’s Syndrome looked fit and healthy.

So what does this tell me? That getting out of the office to get some sun is good for me. Normally, during the fasting month, everyone avoids going out in the sun for fear of feeling thirsty/being dehydrated.

But now I realise that a little bit of sun is good for the body and soul. Next time I feel a little sleepy or even agitated, I’ll know to step outside and bask in the warmth of the sun.

Leave a Reply

