me

Early riser

I’ve been up since 4.30am so I apologise in advance if I don’t “sound” coherent.

Today’s Day 3 of my “early to bed, early to rise” regimen. I was inspired by two of my colleagues who voluntarily joined a Boot Camp-style exercise programme which entails getting up by 4:45am to get ready for a 5:30-6:30am class three times a week (Tues, Thurs and Sats).

I was attracted to the idea because after a really good workout session, they are back at home by 7am and have a few hours to kill before coming to work, since we start at 10am. They can do so much with that free time in the morning.

So I figured I would also try waking up early. Surprisingly, I have managed to wake up at 5am (two days in a row) and 4.30am this morning. However, haven’t been exercising in the morning – just that first day when I did 10 minutes of skipping. I have been catching up on work so that I’m not so behind.

It’s not so bad. I mean, no one’s forcing me to do it. But it makes me less nervous about meeting deadlines, you know? I figured that if I just spend a few hours first thing in the morning to do small bits of work, sooner or later I’ll be able to finish whatever is on my plate.

Of course work never ends and it’s a chore to wake up that early. But if my regimen keeps my stress level down, I’m all for it. The only thing left is to pencil in some exercise in my schedule. Just 30 minutes a day. I guess I need to get used to my schedule first.

I think I have chosen the right time to wake up early. Ramadhan is approaching and I’ll need to wake up early for sahur anyway. So I might as well get my body used to it.

I think sleeping at 10pm and waking up at 4:30am is pretty decent. I get 6.5 hours of sleep, which is not bad. It’s not 8 hours but it will do.

Well, I had my dinner. Now’s time for sleep. Nighty-night!

Leave a Reply

