me

Bananas ’bout pyjamas

If most people are like me, they won’t put a lot of thought into what they wear to bed.

Some would sleep in a proper pyjama set, some just any ratty old t-shirt and shorts, or in their birthday suite. I used to belong in the second category.

But these days, I prefer to look presentable even to bed. By presentable, I mean dressed in a proper, matching top and bottom ensemble.

I have taken to La Senza pyjamas because they’re cute.

I admit they are ridiculously overpriced. I mean, RM180 for pyjamas? Hello! Crazy or what?

But I managed to get my first pair of matching pyjamas – baby blue sheer t-shirt and dark blue pants with horse prints – from the Sunway Pyramid outlet for RM50. I had a choice between that and a striking green penguin print pyjamas. But the latter looked too warm for Malaysian weather, so I choose the former.

Before stepping out of the store that day, the sales girl managed to talk me into signing up as a member for RM30. This entitled me to a 10% discount card (which I could use in combination with other discounts) and some coupons as a thank you gift for becoming a member.

The next time I was in the mall, I popped by the store and got myself three cute pyjama bottoms – one blue kain pelikat-like with blue satin drawstrings, and two cartoon printed ones – for RM150.

In my most recent visit, I bought a pair of powder pink Betty Boop PJ set (sleeveless baby doll top and Betty Boop printed pants with pink satin drawstrings).

I actually had my heart set on another pair of pink t-shirt and black boxers PJs but I talked myself out of getting it and settling for the Betty Boop one. I live with my in-laws and I am not comfortable prancing around in shorts at home.

The main reason why I go for La Senza PJs is because I want sleepwear that I won’t be embarrassed to be seen outside of the bedroom. Getting a sheer nighty/babydoll defeats that purpose.

But I think I’ll get the t-shirt and boxers set next time because I really, really like it. I’m still pining over it so that has to mean something. I have this rule that if I’m still thinking about a product days after I saw it, then I should get it the next time I can afford it. 🙂 So I just mind get it next time.

Writing this makes me think that I might be overspending on something that I might not really need. It is after all just clothes that I wear to bed.

But I kinda like the idea of looking nice going to bed. Besides, I know I will wear them forever and ever. Pyjamas won’t ever go out of fashion, they way kaftans will be a preferred choice by many Malaysian women. I suppose kaftans are cheaper but I hate how they ride up and expose your legs and panties when you sleep.

My pyjamas are not only modest and timeless, they’re very comfortable and loose enough for me to wear even if I put on another 10 kgs.

Well, maybe I’m just making excuses for spending too much on pyjamas. But as long as I’m happy, eh?

Leave a Reply

