me

On crack(berry)

People say that once you go black(berry), you never go back.

I have to say, I’m addicted to my blackberry (curve 8900) and I’m unlikely to go back to using a regular phone. Not even to my favourite Nokia!

Why am I hooked?

For starters, it’s a qwerty phone. I love sms-ing and this is the first thing I look for in a phone.

Secondly, sms-ing, emailing, IMing, FBing and Tweettering from the phone is a breeze. Imagine doing all these (except Tweetering) and all of the msgs go to your inbox. All of them. I’ve set different tones for different types of messaging. Regardless of what the tone I hear, I just go to the inbox to read it. It’s that simple.

I love Tweetdeck and all the other applications that let you Tweeter online but I think Tweetering is meant to be on the go. Go ahead and laugh but I get an adrenaline rush when I read and know that Mariah Carey is also Tweetering at the same time that I am *lol*

Speaking of on the go, I love being able to chat on any IM application wherever I am. People are always surprised to know that I’m logged on even at the oddest hour. They think I don’t sleep at all 😛

Did I tell you I can also receive/send emails from my phone?

I know people say that blackberry owners are a slave to their phones but I beg to differ. I keep my phone off for as long as the battery needs to be fully charged. Too bad if someone decides to call me then. I think I switch off my blackberry more times than I ever did my Nokie E61i.

Although the messages come in at odd hours, no one says that I am OBLIGED to acknowledge them as I receive them. I still get missed calls and check my sms an hour later. I still get to screen calls. If I choose not to answer your call then, I’m afraid there’s nothing you can do to persuade me.

I will get back to you eventually — either via a call, an sms, a chat, a twitter, or an email. The choice is mine, isn’t it?

Having said all that, I do realise that I have to exercise some self-control. It can be difficult not to check on your phone while watching a movie in the cinema or talking face-to-face with someone. I think we are all guilty of this, whether or not we own a blackberry.

I think my blackberry experience has been a positive one so far. I’m calling people more, instead of just smsing them. I say hi to people via IMs, those who are physically far from me, like in a different country or something like that. As long as I’m communicating, right?

Leave a Reply

