home, me

What I do when my husband’s not around

Clean up.

That’s basically what I do when he’s not around. (Right now he is in Phuket on a holiday with his department). I take the chance to clean up – organise the DVDs, sweep the floor, dust off the shelves, fans etc. After that, I fold the laundry while watching THS: Keanu Reeves.

I think I took a good three hours or so to tidy up the “living area” part of my room and maybe 2 hours to clean up the “bedroom” part. It’s a hot day so I sweat like nobody’s business. I wonder if I’m also burning any calories?

The hardest part of the cleaning up is the dusting. My husband’s a smoker and he smokes in the room so it can be dusty as hell (because of the ash). The fact that “the others'” can only  smoke freely in our living area makes it a smokers’ room so-to-speak. So you can imagine how dusty the room can get.

Of course, I only ever do a major clean up like every three months or so.That makes it worse.

I know I should take the time to do it more often, like more often than once a month. Sure, I sweep every weekend but that’s not often enough.  I have to do it more regularly that that. Like at least every other day. My room is so dusty, I’m amazed I haven’t develop some kind of respiratory problem. But I’m trying my best to keep the room tidy and clean without spending too much time on it.

I mean, you don’t want to be cooped up every weekend cleaning your house. Sometimes, you just feel like going out or vegging out in front of the television.

If you’ve got a tip to keep the house tidy and clean in the least amount of time, I’d like to hear from you. How often do you clean your room/house? If you’re not a smoker, how do you tackle dust (short of keeping the windows and doors closed at all times)?

Share with me people! Btw, I’m cleaning the bathroom tonight and tackling the closet tomorrow morning.My husband’s gonna be in for a surprise when he comes home Monday night!

2 thoughts on “What I do when my husband’s not around”

  1. I am only allowed to smoke by the extractor fan in the kitchen! I think it’s good for me, as it stops me from chain smoking. We try to vac and mop once a week and clean up after ourselves every night before we go to bed (eg put away books we’ve read that night, etc). But we’re still messy by normal standard so we’ve just hired a weekly cleaner who cleans areas we’d never thought of, vac and mop which helps a lot. I’m hoping she will do the ironing as well but that might mean paying her a little bit more….we’ll see.

    1. I think hiring a weekly cleaner is a great idea. I think it’s more practical than having a live in maid if you’re concerned only with housework.

      But in Malaysia, people regard maids as child-minders on top of being housekeepers, which part of me doesn’t agree with.

Leave a Reply

