me

And celebs go *twit*

I have found a new addiction – twitter!

I remember last year, I set up and account, updated a few times and just forgot about it. I think I was too occupied with facebook.

But since I downloaded fring on my last phone (nokia e61i) (yes, I changed my phone people and soon my service provide too. I will explain later), I had all my IM ID keyed in and I get updates every so often.

Yesterday, a friend twit-ed about Ashton Kutcher being the first person in the whole wide world with 1,000,000 followers, so I got curious and decided to follow him. I ended up adding oprah, ryan seacrest, demi moore, miley cyrus, pdiddy, mariah carey, larry king, jimmy felonkim kardashian, kelly rowland, nkotb, donnie wahlberg, jordan knight and joey mcintyre all in one day *lol*.

Ashton Kutcher was interviewed on Larry King Live earlier and Oprah too, if I’m not wrong. I think he won the race to A Million by pledging to donate to a cause for malaria or something like that. You can google for more detail.

Anyway, it’s amazing how all these celebrities have gone twitter-crazy almost overnight. When oprah starts twitting, you know the world is going to follow *lol*.

So far, this is what I have gathered from reading celeb’s twits. Pdiddy twits almost every hour – telling people that hes working on a song, he’s bored, can’t sleep, feels lonely etc. Mariah was struggling with technology at first but now twits regularly around the time that she gets her makeup or hair done and gives good tips on caring for your hair and nails. Miley, on the other hand, shares her favourite quotes, what she’s eating and random thoughts. Apparently, David Archuleta also twitted when he was on AI7 but his last update was mid-last year shortly after the show ended.

I can’t wait to get GPRS Unlimited on my Blackberry Curve 8900 (yep, that’s what my new phone is), so that I can twit properly instead of waiting for the next available wifi service. My current provider can’t serve up gprs unlimited to my current phone, so short of selling this phone back (no way, are you mad??!!) my husband and I have to move to another service provider that claims to have more “territories” than others or something like that. No prizes for guessing what it is!!

I honestly have no problem with my yellow man but if I can’t surf on my phone with gprs, I have to find a solution. Since yellow man can’t help me in that area, it’s time to move. But I’m going to keep my number so you guys ( who have my number) won’t even notice that I’ve moved and settled in 🙂

I like my new phone a lot because it’s slimmer and lighter. I still need to play around with it, get myself familiar with the functions but I’m quite happy with it so far. As long as I get to make calls, sms and surf – I’m happy. But I’d like to check my email on the go too but I’d have to wait about a week for the service to be activated. No problem. I can wait.

Anyway, have I convinced you to try twitter (or at least get you curious about it)? I hope you’ll give it a try.

I could be wrong but I think Twitter is what inspired FB’s status function. People can comment on what you Twit in the same way that they can comment on your status. Many people Twit on the web but imagine being able to do that on the go? It can be useful, depending on how you use it of course. Some people use Twitter to bounce of ideas, while some just to keep you posted.

I think I’d like to write about this whole excitement about Twitter. For this Saturday? I should at least try.

1 thought on “And celebs go *twit*”

Leave a Reply

