me

When is it my turn?

I have never really been competitive. Sure, there were times when I want to win at competitions, like karaoke contests. But that was for the prizes not really for the “prestige” of being No 1.

I’ve never really been someone who would be envious of what other people had. I would say I’m easily contented with what I have. When I started dating my husband, seeing close friends tie the knot didn’t make me mop around thinking when was my turn.

But I admit that I sometimes bow to pressure.  When I found out a friend is going to be a mother in eights months’ time, I did feel a pang of jealousy. Sure, I was very happy for her. I  but I can’t pretend that it doesn’t hurt.

I know it’s not a contest of who gets a baby first. But it’s no fun when you visit a new mother and her baby and you just want to share the joy and people ask you: when’s your turn? I know people mean well and I wish I had an answer for them. But it’s not so simple for some people. It’s certainly not for me.

Leave a Reply

