me

I hope I don’t end up like them

I feel sorry for people who don’t have Internet access because they don’t know how easy and fast it is to obtain knowledge. Here is why…

A senior citizen and one of our readers called at 6pm wanting to know the number for an English language centre smack in the middle of the city. I thought he was referring to a particular advertisement that had appeared on our pages recently. Turns out, he had seen the advertisement a few times but can’t remember when exactly he had seen it.

He said that he had looked in the Yellow Pages and also called Telekom’s phone directory to no avail. I just googled the name of the school and went into it’s Contact Us page to get the number for the particular branch that he wanted in less than 15 seconds.

I feel sorry for him because he may not be Internet-savvy and GENUINELY hadn’t thought of looking it up on the Internet.

Heck, I just helped a colleague send an email and was quick shocked to see how “fast” (read: s-l-o-w) he was typing on the keyboard. And this is someone who had been a reporter for the better part of his life and at least 10 years of that is in the age of computer. And he still needs help sending an email. In 2009.

I hope when I turn 80, I won’t be the granny who doesn’t know how to work her iPod or netbook 😛 I hope that by then, I’m still blogging.

Leave a Reply

