me

Recession chic

Well, the cat’s out of the bag.

In case you didn’t know, I am a writer for that newspaper. I was recently linked by Suet whom I have read for… I dunno, two years now, at least?

Anyway, recently I begged her to take part in this article that I was writing. I was given the topic “recession chic” and I immediately had this idea of getting a stylist to raid an unsuspecting young girl’s closet and give her a makeover based on her existing wardrobe.

But CNY weekend was approaching and there was no way I could get a stylist that fast. So while gtalk-ing with Karen Marie from Emmagem.com, inspiration hit me. Why don’t I just gather a few girls whom I know who are stylish and get them to share their tips?

I mean, who would you rather go to for advice: some old stylist or your bff?

Ok, I’ll ignore those who answered “some old stylist”.

So that was when I approached Karen, Audrey and Suet – three gorgeous young girls who have quite a huge following on the blogosphere.

Finally, last Sunday, I met up with Karen and Audrey for the first time and had so much fun (well, I did!) doing a photo shoot with them. Inside, I felt like a old groupie, because I have been their long-time fan. (maybe I just started visiting emmagem but you get the point…). But I think I didn’t scare them off 😀

Anyhoo… since Suet is all the way in the States, she sadly couldn’t join us for the photo shoot. But she participated in spirit and via email. She gave such good tips that I decided to use her as the anchor of the article. It’s only fair, I think, since Karen and Aud had all the fun during the photo shoot 🙂

Suet was so inspired by the article that she decided to write a full blown entry/post on the subject of saving money. That’s what I admire about her – so young and so money savvy. I wish I had half the discipline she has when it comes to saving. But I have to say that I’ve improved when it comes to my finances. If it took me the age of 30 to have an epiphany about the joys of saving, so be it lah 😀

Anyway, the article is out this Saturday. If you want to read what Karen, Audrey and Suet has to say about dressing up in the age of recession, don’t miss YOU this Saturday in the NST.

If you have your own tips to share, please email to nstyouth at gmail dot com. My colleagues and I would be happy to hear from you. If your tips are good, we may even publish them. So don’t forget to include your name and contact number too okay?

So enough plugging the paper for now. Later!

Leave a Reply

