makeup

Vanity Times

I’m taking a 10-minute break from my writer’s block phase to review some of my favourite “beauty” products right now.

Allow me to give a shout out to L’oreal Paris Studio Curl Power Curl Controlling Creme (For Rebellious Curls). I bought this about a month ago because I thought my part curly/part frizzy/part wavy hair could use some soft control. I have been pairing this creme with Ellips hair serum. But I’ve learned another trick recently, albeit by accident. What happened was, I accidentally apply Curl Power Creme BEFORE the serum. I was pleasantly surprised with the result the next morning – soft, bouncy curls ala Katy Perry without a curling iron ever near my hair.

So, I decided to do a repeat performance of my breakthrough. This time, I used L’oreal Elseve Color-vive Intensive Care Serum as a substitute for Ellips hair serum. The result? Again, success. So yes, ladies, apply your curl controlling creme BEFORE your hair serum.

Does this mean I can kiss my curling iron goodbye? Heck no! I’m even thinking of getting a Philips straightening iron from Watson because it is just the right size. D3ll swears by the bigger variety but I’m not interested in making my hair straight. I just want my beachy waves to turn out right 😛

Ironic, huh, resorting to a straightening iron to curl my hair?

And I may have found THE shampoo for my dandruff problem. I got a Himalaya Protein Shampoo and Conditioner (2-in-1 product) for Greasy hair and Hair Detangler conditioner at a post-Xmas Xmas party recently. I’ve been using it for about two weeks now and I can safely say, my itchy scalp has found its cure. Granted I still do get flakes but they’re nothing like what I used to get. I can safely say that my condition has improved by 98%. I think Himalaya carries an anti-dandruff shampoo so maybe that one can completely cure it. But I’m happy with the results that I’ have right now. The shampoo and conditioner make my hair softer and less frizzy. But I’m not worried about the frizz now that I have my trusty curl controlling creme and serum (the serum I got from the same party).

I was so impressed with the shampoo that I recently bought Himalaya Herbals Purifying Neem Face Wash. I hope that the facial cleanser will help my acne-prone skin. It’s only been two days and it’s quite early to tell. What I can say is that my face doesn’t feel tight after washing. In fact, my skin feels supple and moisturised after washing. As it’s soap-free, it doesn’t sting my eyes and makes it okay for cleaning my eye makeup.

Watch this space for updates on how the cleanser is improving my skin (or not)!

Leave a Reply

