me

Resolutions? Scr3w dat!

Happy new year everyone!

So what do you think of 2009 so far? Too early to tell, huh?

Same here. I have no (strong) opinion of 09 yet. All I know is that I’m already aware of how busy January is going to be for me (work-wise) since December. So I really have no time to look for signs as to whether 09 is going to be a blast or not.

I certainly don’t have the time for new year’s resolutions. I haven’t had one in years actually. What I have is a never-ending, good-intentioned list of things I want to do but not necessarily complete in a particular year.

My list of things are normally carried forward from the previous year. In 08’s case, I wanted to practice positive thinking (after reading The Secret and Law of Attraction), make exercise a lifestyle, be a better Muslim, read more (inspired by my Kak Long who read The Cups of Tea, The Kite Runner, The Alchemist, The Witch of Portobello, and Thanks for the Memories in a span of three months), earn more and save more.

There are some things on the list which have been pending for a few years now (ie get own car, driving lesson and license, own place). But if you notice, this pending list is closely related to the last two items on my list above (earn more and save more). So no wonder they are still pending 😛

So yeah, I’m definitely reading more right now. I just wish I could stick to one book at a time. Right now, I’m reading New Moon by Stephenie Meyer (of Twilight fame). I just bought it last night and I’m already at page 35, so that’s good. I hope I can finish the book by late January so I can go back to The Devil and Miss Pryme, The Book Thief and The Pact (see, I told you I wish I could stick to one book at a time!). I think I want to start Thanks for the Memories in March or so. I still have Three Cups of Tea and The Kite Runner (which I borrowed from my sister last year) to read. That is excluding my own books which I bought last year at the MPH warehouse sale (eek!) Maybe I should learn to speed read or something. Or maybe I should stop buying more books and magazines than I can read! That’s a thought 😛

I still haven’t gone to the gym. Next week, definitely next week!

But I’m glad to say that I have been quite good with budgeting and saving. Kudos to me for starting the new year on the right financial path.

Ok. Time to shower, wash my hair and all that clean stuff. This evening, I’m going to KLCC to see an old colleague who just returned from Myanmar. I need to primp before I leave home, as per usual. Later then!

Leave a Reply

