blogs, me, US

Of curling irons and tolerance

I’m beginning to discover major flaws about my straightener. It’s not only too thick but also doesn’t clamp well. It’s grip is so loose, I had to put pressure with my own hands. Not impressed!

This makes me want to go out and buy a thinner flat iron. Maybe when my husband is not looking 😛

Anyway, yes, I’m still obsessed with youtube video tutorials. I just realised something though — most of the tutorial givers on the subject of curling hair are Asian girls. I’m sure there are girls of other ethnicity too but the ones I happen to click on are by Asians.

It’s amazing to read some of the comments youtubers leave for these girls. I’m talkng about the hateful ones. OMG, you wouldn’t believe the racist things they can write. Sometimes you wonder what the girls did to even deserve those comments. They were just teaching people to make their hair look better!

One of comments read something like this:

This (insert some derogative word to describe Asians) doesn’t know what the hell she’s doing. She might as well go back to Japan and plant rice.

And she/he was talking about a girl who gets thousands of hits and heaps of praises for her videos. Some people are just too much!

He or she doesn’t even know for sure if the girl is Japanese or not. Even I can’t tell! It’s not like she had a Japanese accent. She spoke perfect American!!

I bet the one who wrote that is a fellow American.

Speaking of Asian-haters, a girl (whose blog) I read regularly has also been the target of racist comments.

I have a lot to say about this in Asian people’s defense but I’m not going to write them here, lest I be seen as racist too.

Anyho, who would’ve thought that youtube videos on how to curl your hair can spark a discussion on tolerance huh?

Leave a Reply

