me

‘tis the season for partays

Late December is a season of parties. Earlier today, I had two parties to attend: one was a Xmas party thrown by my colleague at he residence and the other was a birthday bbq of my 6-year-old niece who lives near my place. Since I’d bought my 10-in-1 multistyler set and I’d been watching all that youtube tutorials on hair and makeup, I decided to put my knowledge to the test.

So at close to 6pm, I put my laptop on the dirty clothes hamper in the bathroom, played my favourite youtube tutorial, and directed the fan towards me — the bathroom can be a sauna sometimes and I don’t want to ruin my hair and/or makeup.

The result? Success! And it took only one try!

I wanted dark brown smokey eyes and beach-y waves so I followed Judy’s videos. She’s a 22-year-old Asian American girl and a very talented makeup artist. I find her tutorials easy to follow and her instructions clear. It helps that she’s cute and has really nice, glossy hair 🙂 She reminds me of Mariah Carey in some of her videos (such as the one below).

Anyways, I had to improvise a little to get my smokey eyes since I didn’t have some of the colours she used. So my eye makeup was a mix of grey, peach/pink, purple, black and blue. Despite using different colours to achieve a similar result, my eye makeup turned out alright (if I do say so myself). I don’t think anyone could tell that I threw in some pink on my eyes 😛

My only complaint about this video is that there were too many products and colours (more than 4) involved. So I had to simplify it and make it my own style.

As for my hair, I only realised that my straightening iron was not as thin as the one she used after I took out mine to use for the first time. So I think my curls ended up a little bigger than hers. But nevertheless, it curled my hair and I could preserve my curl –- which frizzed a little because I didn’t wash my hair from the styling the day before but no matter — for a good number of hours using a spritz of hairspray. And I have pictures to prove it! (Not that I’m going to post them up here…maybe on facebook).

Tomorrow, my husband and I may go for a karaoke session with some friends from uni. Dah lama tak nanyi sama-sama. There was a funny story about us going to the same karaoke joint on the same day and around the same time but never bumping into each other at all. So this time, we’re making sure that we’re going together and getting the same room 🙂

And I think this calls for another primping session tomorrow evening, don’t you? A repeat performance of beach-y waves and smokey eyes is definitely in order!

 

Leave a Reply

