me

Post-Penang

For those who didn’t know, I was in Penang last weekend. I was on a holiday with my husband and the family-in-law. We drove all the way from SA to Penang.

I was lucky because the bonus came in just a day before the trip. So for the first time, we had some dough during a trip 😛 So apa lagi, shopping lah!

I didn’t plan to shop (much) but of course I ended up spending more than I planned to. But instead of my usual clothes shopping, I decided to get handbags. I admit, they were knock offs from the night market at Feringgi 😛 But they’re nice and don’t scream “designer”, which was why I purchased them. One is a yellow/brown/orange chanel quilted bag which looks something like this one (the strap is not as thin though and there is no annoying entertwined c logo)

 

but in this colour

The other bag is a red salvatore ferragamo similar to this one:

 

We were told that we didn’t bargain enough for the bags. I’m not gonna tell you how much I paid for them but I don’t think I overpaid. The point is, I’m really, really happy I bought these bags because I know they will last me for some time. I know that I’ll probably fork out more than how much I did for no brand bags that aren’t even knock offs. So because these are knock offs, so at least the shape and design are okay.

And then I bought two pair of comfy, flowy pants from the Thai showcase at the mall next to our hotel for RM29 each.

It’s funny how we skipped all the touristy places and decided to hang out in shopping malls. We spent a few hours in Queensbay Mall while waiting to check into our room for the second night. I don’t remember buying anything there but I absolutely loved the fact that I could see the ocean from the mall. It’s so surreal – like a mall by the beach or something.

We stayed in a hotel along Jln Burmah but lepak-ed at Bt Feringgi two nights in a row. The second night, we lepak at a bar by the beach after an hour of shopping. The others chatted while I sat quietly updating my facebook on my mobile phone. Ah… the wonders of mobile internet 🙂

But the highlight of our trip would be the detours we took en route to and from Penang. We stopped at (near) Parit Buntar (to Penang) and also Taiping (from Penang) to walk down memory lane. No offence to Taiping folks but I was shocked that there was a Starbucks! I haven’t been to Taiping in ages (more like two decades) and I thought the taman tasik was absolutely beautiful. Too bad it was raining heavily, otherwise we could’ve stopped to take some pictures and maybe go down the slide. But we did have the famous cendol in town. You’d be surprised to know that it’s listed on the map installed on our gps device. (Yes, gps makes road trips all the more fun). I saw a few (yellowing) articles posted on the wall of the shop. One of them was written by a colleague IM when she was still with nuance. Funny how for a shop that’s really busy, there were only two people manning it. The almost didn’t have time to prepare the pasembor for us. But then the crowd subsided and we had our pasembor and went home full and satisfied.

So that was my holiday to Penang. I’d love to go there again some day. Maybe next year? We’ll see how that goes.

Leave a Reply

