me

‘tis the season to start anew

Firstly, Merry Christmas everyone!

I spent last night proofreading some files for my freelance job while listening to Christmas songs from Mariah Carey, Aly and AJ, Hanson, *Nsync and more. (Yes people, my proofreading services is still available. Anyone who needs their English essays, abstracts, or thesis proofread, give me a buzz!) I love to listen to how these artists interpret old and favourite Xmas tunes. Mariah does a mean (read: good) job with O Holy Night and Hanson really rocked singing Merry Christmas Baby. Taylor’s voice is divine!

Anywho, the Christmas season is a time where a lot of people go on leave to enjoy the holiday season with their loved ones. For me, it’s a time to take stock of where I’ve been and where I’m heading (thanks in part to the assessment exercise where you have to write down your accomplishments this year).

I’ve been thinking a lot about things which I didn’t do so well in 2008 which are managing my finances and starting a family. I’ve been thinking about getting back on the exercise wagon too. Although I was relatively successful in this area, I have managed to undone half of the good/hard work that I’ve put into getting healthy and in shape. Darn those Dove chocolate bars!!

Just before I went to HK, I managed to start a savings plan. It was working well until I went to HK and blew it all 😛 But I don’t entirely regret it. At least I managed to bring back souvenirs for the family. I used to not bring back a lot of gifts home because I would go on my overseas work trips broke.

Thanks to the recent contractual bonus and claims that my husband and I got, we managed to settle our bills, debt etc and also do a bit of shopping.

The best part is, I’ve managed to save in my kitty again. So yeay for that!

I’ve been really inspired to set aside an additional 10 per cent of my pay towards a savings plan. The other 11 per cent, has of course, gone into my retirement fund. I’d love to set aside another 10 per cent on a second savings fund but I’m not sure if that is entirely practical.

Say I earn RM5000 (which I don’t!) a month. 11 pc of RM5000 is already RM550 (=retirement fund). That leaves me with RM4450. Ten per cent of this amount is RM445 (savings fund A). So that leaves me with RM4005. A 10 per cent of this is RM400.50 (savings fund B).

If I were to follow this 11+10+10 pc plan, that means I would have to fork out RM1550 every month. That would leave me with RM3450 to pay my bills, rent, car installment, meals, etc. I’m not sure if that’s enough in this time of recession.

Thank God I’ve got my 11 per cent retirement fund covered, duly and automatically deducted from my pay every month. It’s the other 20pc that’s a bit of a stretch. Frankly, saving even RM500 a month is tough with the recent economic situation. Thank God also that I already have a small amount deducted from my account every month, so I just need a little more than RM500 to meet my monthly target on my own. That’s like saving a little over RM100 a week. Boleh lah kot.

Next on my agenda is baby making. I really need to schedule a check up for this. No putting it off anymore, missy!

As for my workout plans, like the rest, this one requires self-discipline and motivation. I have to manage my time REALLY well because with the “revamp” next year, I’mma gonna be really bizzay!

I may even have to work on (alternate) Saturdays. I have been assigned to oversee the youth pages (all four of them) apart from contributing to the pull-out as per usual. Looks like I’ve got my work cut out for me in 09.

The bummer part is that I won’t be able to claim for working on Saturday because it would be part of my roster-ed schedule. But I get a day off on (most probably) Monday.

So keeping healthy and fit is even more important in 09. I’m going to be busy so I’ll be needing the stamina and energy. I’ve signed up for a “Bikini Body in 4 Weeks” plan from Fitness magazine. Hope that helps, even a little. It’s not the bikini body that I want (it wouldn’t hurt of course) but rather the workouts, diet plan etc.

Well, that’s my 2009 blueprint, then. So, how do you reckon your 2009 is going to be like?

Leave a Reply

