me

Dinner and dance

Tis the season to be jolly…falalalala-lala-lala. And at the office, everyone is pretty much on a festive mood and discussing – well, mainly the girls – our d&d next Friday. The theme is red carpet glamour and everyone’s cracking their heads over what to wear.

One girl told me she’s probably wearing a dress that she can twirl in because she loves “twirling” 😛

Me? I thought it’d be easier to think of a theme and taking it from there. A Youtube hair tutorial had inspired me to try the 1940s poster girl, Rockabilly look.

 

After studying numerous videos and photos, I think I have a clear idea of what type of clothes, makeup and hairstyle that I would need to pull off the look.

Just to give you an idea of what modern Rockabilly is like, then look no further than to Gwen Stefani who was very Rockabilly, especially during her No Doubt days.

 

Dita Von Teese is part burlesque and part Rockabilly, IMHO. Check out her hair on the pix above, especially the fake bang/fringe!

I think I’d like to mix a little bit of Gwen and a little bit of Dita for that dinner and dance.

As I was doing my research on authentic Rockabilly dresses, I panicked a bit when I saw a lot of classic halter neck gingham dresses. I think I can handle a little decolletage but there is not way am I going to expose my arms and pits!

So, I was happy to find a picture or rather illustration today that looked very close to a dress that I already have. Perfect because I wasn’t planning to buy a new dress for the D&D.

All I need now is a red thick belt for that cinched-in waist, a red huge clutch to store all my personal belongings and red lippy. I’ve already got the shoes, so that’s settled.

To make sure I really pull it off, I have asked a girl from the office to help me with my hair and maybe even makeup. I just need to show her the Youtube tutorial videos on Tuesday as a guide. She seemed game for it.

So, I guess that’s settled then 🙂 I’ll keep you posted!

Leave a Reply

