me

I updated this blog on Windows Live Writer Beta

I downloaded the Windows Live Beta package (Messenger, Call, Writer, Photo Gallery and Mail) just for the fun of it (I do this a lot, install and uninstall applications just to see how they work) and decided to try updating my blog using Windows Live Writer Beta.

It claims to make blogging super easy (ok, I added the word “super” in easy). Best of all, you can blog on Writer Beta and publish to most blogging services.

I just followed a few simple steps and am now updating my blog as WYSIWYG – literally. Instead of writing in that boring white box,  I’m writing on the actual template of my wordpress blog. Just a simple switch from edit to preview tab, I get to see how my blog entry would look like after I press publish. Not that I need to press preview because I’m literally blogging on a “previewlike” window anyway.

Adding photos and resizing them for the blog is almost automatic. You just pick the size that you want and you’ll see the size differences in real time. No having to be redirected to a new page to see the result.

screen-shot1

Screen shot from my last blog entry. This is edit view.

Interested? You can download the entire Beta package at http://download.live.com/

Apart from the ones I mentioned earlier, also available for download are Movie Maker, Toolbar, Family Safety and Microsoft Office Outlook Connector – all Betas. You may download all or just chose the ones you need.

I shall try some of these later and I’ll make sure to remember to blog about them.Seriously, Microsoft should pay me for this.

2 thoughts on “I updated this blog on Windows Live Writer Beta”

  1. salam suzie,

    thanks, I always get latest update from you.

    I remember one time u wrote about google and I am using it now, feeds and readers.

    I will try this soon.

    Actually, i want to change my layout, only i dont have the patience to copy/paste all the sidebars deco.

  2. Assalamualaikum.

    No worries at all. I enjoy trying out new tools and (if I like them) sharing them with friends.

    I hear you about changing layouts. That’s one of the reasons why I moved to wordpress. As a non-paying user of wordpress, I can only choose from the selection of templates offered. But that suits me fine.

    I do miss customising my templates once in a while but I definitely don’t miss the headache that accompanies it 🙂

    So, as long as I don’t own my own domain, I’m happy to use the ready-made templates (limited customisation) provided by wordpress.

Leave a Reply

