blogs, job

Put off to tomorrow what you can’t do today

Just so you know, I tried uploading my HK pictures on FB twice tonight. But the Internet connection is kinda slow right now, so I guess I have no choice but to home from work tomorrow. Really, I’m forced to do it!!I gotta keep my promise, right?

Anyway, today felt like I didn’t accomplish anything. I feel this way when I didn’t manage to write a single sentence for a looming deadline. But in reality, I did go over two stories which I had prepared for my stockpile {yay, stockpile!} for grammar etc and made sure all the correct pictures were attached. I also attended a meeting in which we discussed ideas for a future revamp of the section I write for. Besides that, I discussed with colleagues the comments to put for the stories we’re nominating for the annual dinner/award night. We submitted quite a number of stories so hope that at least one “mengena” (gets picked). I also wrote a few emails arranging for photos for my upcoming stories based on the event in HK. AND, I made a phone call requesting for an interview in the near future. I mean, these are proper “work” stuff, right? But why is it that unless I’m writing my stories, I feel like I’m not doing at all? Annoying, isn’t it?

So tomorrow, I vow to start fresh. As I like to put it, “hit the ground running”. I’ll try to do work but if I find myself answering more calls than I am typing my ideas down, I’ll count that as part of a productive day. If answering calls isn’t productive or part of a day’s job, then why do phone operators and receptionists get paid?

Ok…now, I’m rambling.

Anyway, today, a simple conversation about career paths post-my current establishment got me seriously thinking about my next career. Don’t get me wrong, I love writing. It’s what I live to do. But I’ve been at this job long enough to feel like it’s “same old same old”.

So, when I do leave my current job for “greener pastures”, I’m definitely going to a company where technology is its core business. Since I’m so deeply entrenched in the education field, the organisation should put a premium on education and not just something it would do as part of its corporate social responsibility efforts. I’ve got several organisations in mind but I have to do my homework on them. And this could take months if not years.

I’ve been in my present company for seven years but I don’t claim to have learned everything that I can from it. I still have a lot of crucial skills — like presentation, communication etc — to master if I want to function “out there”. I have no doubt that I’ll be able to pull through should I get thrown into the deep blue sea. I always do. But before I take the plunge, I’d like to learn how to swim first, if you know what I mean. A postgraduate degree won’t hurt (in what? that I have to decide) and that’s definitely one thing that I should aspire for, among other things.

Well, enough talk about the future for now. The present needs my attention too. Later!

Leave a Reply

