me

Rocking the vintage look

I think I’m going to check out this sale in SS3, KJ (The Big Blue House) today. The sale was supposed to be a weekend-only affair but it has been extended to today in lieu of the Deepavali hols.

I’m normally not one to haunt jumble sales but after visiting the websites of some of the participating stores, I think it’s worth a visit. The clothes carried by Nine-one, in particular, caught my eye. Not only are her vintage dresses 21st-century friendly, they are also very affordable. I saw a red and a blue dress that look super sweet. I think I can pull them off, if I can fit into them first, that is 😛

I mean, let’s face it. Not everyone can pull off the vintage look without appearing frumpy and cuckoo. Some of the vintage stuff sold online are really best left in the boxes in the store rooms where they were found. They look too makcik (sorry, there’s no nicer way to put it).

Speaking of vintage, I had this teacher in secondary school (in the mid-90s) who wore her “vintage” dresses from when she was maybe 22 to work. I think she was in her 40s then. With her round glasses, frizzy curly hair and 70s makeup (think pale blue eye shadow), she stood out for the wrong reasons. What we girls didn’t know then was that she was very fashion forward.. hahahaha. Too fashion forward in fact. She’s probably laughing at all of us now because we’re scouring for the clothes that she used to wear and we used to make fun of.

So, I hope to visit Nina-one’s “offline” store tomorrow and find something that I can actually wear to work.

I’ve actually emailed my brother in my hometown hoping to convince him to join the online clothes store craze. I know he’s perfect for this business. He can work from home, and still make good money. I think the fact that he lives in a small town is an advantage. Materials may be a lot cheaper in a small town. If he were to dig the boxes at home, he’ll probably find some pre-loved dresses and t-shirts worth selling online.

I’ve seen the kinds of clothes sold online and I think my brother can do better than some of them. I think he’ll do really well if he caters for the (UK) size 10 and above group. I can help him manage the website and the promotion. In return, I get to wear his clothes for free. Hey, imagine the amount of money I’ll be saving if I don’t have to shop for clothes anymore!

If I have the money, I’ll probably invest in the business too.

D3ll is as excited as I am about this. She has even asked, “so when’s the store opening?” Well, let’s give my brother a chance to study the business, the trends and start making the clothes first. And then we’ll talk.

I’m hoping that by putting this idea out in the open, it’ll push me to make this happen. Well, technically pushing my brother to make this happen. I’m sure he’ll love the idea too.

I may not know a lot about setting up a business, but I have to start somewhere, right?

Let’s see where this business idea goes, shall we?

Leave a Reply

