me

Shop with a click of the mouse

I think I can get used to shopping online. I recently discovered “the joys” of buying books online.

My Kak Long has been doing it for for some time now. Recently, I decided to give it a try. I think I blogged about it earlier on.

Anyway, I was at m*p*h yesterday and saw that Sophie Kinsella’s new book, Remember Me? has been released. It’s the size of a regular hardcover book except that it is in paperback. The price is RM79.

Seeing the book reminded me that I haven’t picked up my Laws of Attraction book from my sister. I decided to search for the book in the store. As I had expected and read from an online review, it is thin and easy to read. The price tag behind the book reads RM41.

I bought it online with a 30% discount for RM34. My sister also bought a book and she paid for the RM7 delivery charges (per delivery, not per book). I thought, “hmmm… a RM7 discount”, not bad lah…because the hassle of driving to the mall and finding parking and paying for the book AND parking later is not always worth the while.

This made me wish that they sell Remember Me? online… for a discounted price, of course. I mean, Cecilia Ahern’s book, Thanks For The Memories is relatively new and it already has been given a discount of about 20 or 30%. But I think I’ll just wait for the paperback version (of Remember Me?), which will be out by next month anyway. I hope it’ll be available online and on sale by then.

I’d like to buy bags over the Internet next. But I’m very particular about bags. I will not buy a bag if the material used doesn’t feel good to touch. I hate bags that feel too PVC-like. I was quite disappointed when I walked into a store once — where the bags are priced at between RM300 and RM500 — and discovered that the material feels no better than the fake ones sold at stalls in shopping malls. Terus tak jadi beli!

Anyway, I’m going to HK next month and I think I would like to get myself a sling bag similar to the ones made by Coach and Louis Vitton. I think it’ll make a good weekend bag for me. Of course, I can always buy a fake one here but I’d rather get an affordable one that looks and feels as good as the designer one from a no brand shop. I hope I’ll find it there. I really liked Kam’s H&M bag which she carried when we met up.

Well, enough talk about shopping. I haven’t saved enough money to shop for the bag anyway.

But my savings scheme has been working alright. Let’s just say that if my daily budget was RM10 a day and I had no money left in the bank, I can use the cash from my money-box and be able to survive for three or four days at least. Not bad for something which I started about a week ago, if I do say so myself!

Anyway, we’ll see how that plan transpires in the next month or two. I’m so excited!

Later, peeps. I gotta do the laundry now before it rains in the afternoon…

Leave a Reply

