me

Money talks

Just a quick note to say that today’s a day full of fulfilling kind people’s invitation to have some makan-makan session at their homes. I should be ironing my baju kurung raya in a minute. Today, we have one open house invitation from our neighbour who lives opposite us. Then there’s an aunt’s house in Section 3 (not very sure about this one) and Shah’s open house in DJ too. That one I can’t miss because many of my college friends will be there. But my husband and I probably won’t be there that early because of the other invitations.

Anyway, I am glad to report that I’ve finished proof reading all except one chapter. That one is just a few pages, so that’s a piece of cake. But I was told to expect a couple more articles in the near future (i.e next week or so). I’m bracing myself for that because next week is also when I go back to work. When I go back to work I’m expected to hit the ground running, so to speak. Thank God I have my running shoes for that 😛 Well, running on the treadmill while listening to music calms me down. Now I have new songs from NKOTB and Aerosmith to be my new background/theme songs. I’m actually looking forward to running to Dude (Looks Like A Lady) and Jaded 🙂 Steven Tyler is hot! *lol*

Speaking of hot, have you seen Britney’s new video Womanizer? She’s looking good. Her body is different but in a good and healthy way. And during those steam room nude scenes, she looks as good as she did in Toxic (you know exactly which scenes in that video that I’m referring to). I’m not very sure about the song itself but the video will definitely get people talking. I like the part where the guy goes from being only in his boxers to being dressed in a “The Matrix” kind of way. You got to see it for yourself to understand what I mean.

Oh, I almost forgot to mention that I met up with my friend Kam (who lives in England) last night. She was here for Raya and went for a short trip to Siem Reap, Cambodia and just came back yesterday. She had a good time there with her husband. She said it was a humbling experience for her. I know it was for me too when I went there about three or four years ago.

We met at Le Meridien and we chatted for a good three hours or so at the coffee house. We talked about what we have been up to since we last catch up, tv shows we should watch and also swapped ideas about savings. I think she’s an excellent person to give me or anyone money-wise tips because she loves to shop yet handles her finances very well.

Something new which I came away with last night was setting a weekly budget. I’ve never really given myself a weekly budget because I have always considered myself someone who doesn’t shop often and/or sensely. The trouble is, when I do shop, I tend to spend quite a lot and I feel the pinch because I didn’t have a proper weekly budget to begin with.

I hope she doesn’t mind me sharing this but she has set a budget of less than £200 a week between her and her husband (inclusive of petrol). She says that for someone who eats out quite often and loves to go out in the weekends, that’s a relatively small sum. I agree with her (let’s ignore the exchange rate and focus on the cost of living). She says the trick is to insist that she and her husband stick to it. I think her stringent scheme has paid off. She goes on short trips to Europe every year and manages to come back once a year for Raya. That says a lot.

Of course like all wise savers, she sets aside a certain sum monthly for her savings and another sum for incidentals etc.

She also does what financial advisers have been preaching all these while: keep tab of every single thing that you spend on. She actually has a balance sheet on Excel which she monitors and updates on a daily basis. I’m so impressed!

I don’t know if I will actually begin, let alone stick with, the balance sheet idea but I do like the sound of having a weekly budget. I like the idea of being frugal to save up for an item that I want to buy (let’s say a new RM50 mascara) and not just buy (the mascara) because it happens to be payday (and I could afford the RM50). To me, the latter is a sign of reckless, impulsive shopping. I want planned spending.

And Kam and I agree that when it comes to saving, you must have a goal. What’s the point of saving and not knowing what to spend all that money on?

I have a million of things that I want to “spend” on right now – monthly pocket money for my ageing parents, a mascara, a new digital camera, NKOTB concert tickets *lol* but there’s one thing that I’d like to save towards. My parents in law have been talking about performing umrah with my husband and I next year. Insya-allah. Normally, they’d sponsor these kinds of things but I think I’ll feel better about myself if we could at least contribute towards the fund for expenses over there. My husband and I don’t earn very much even after we pool our resources together (let’s just say that there is quite a big earning gap between us). But that is no excuse for us not to try to contribute to the fund.

So, I really hope this whole savings scheme works. Insya-allah.

1 thought on “Money talks”

Leave a Reply

