me

Raya 2008

As agreed, I spent this year’s raya with my husband and his side of the family at our new place in S2. Raya this year is rather quiet. No huge family gathering on Raya morning because some families decided to spend the first day of Syawal in NS and the rest at their own homes. Raya morning felt unusually quiet for this family but no big deal. Huge family gatherings had taken place plenty of times during Ramadhan.

And the non-hectic schedule continued right up to yesterday, the third day of Syawal. Sure it’s not as fun without the rest of the cousins but I think, deep inside, everyone is sort of glad that it is quite around the house. No visitors streaming in means more private time to watch back to back episodes of Chuck (which was what my siblings-in-law did all day yesterday). In fact, we only had my husbands’ school friends over yesterday. There were only three of them but it was enough company to me. We talked about raya, love, family, death. A grim topic for Raya, I know, but it’s good to share and learn from each others’ experiences.

I’m going home to Perak on Sunday. I’m sure Raya over there will be even quieter. It always is but I like it like that. Now, I’m beginning to appreciate the way the Middle Easterners celebrate Eid. They “party” all Ramadhan-long and celebrate only the first day of Syawal with a bang.

Malaysians, on the other hand, have this thing about celebrating Syawal the entire month. To most of us, we see Syawal as a month of victory (bulan kemenangan) so it’s literally a month-long celebration of all-you-can-eat buffet. But I think I already had an eventful Ramadhan with lots of family gatherings, solat berjemaah (mass prayers) and food. Heck, we even had a family BBQ on the last night of Ramadhan, amidst preparing the ketupat and what not. So you can say that I’ve had my fair share of “celebrations”.

In fact, I don’t think I want to celebrate with food too much this Syawal. After a month of rest from the gym, I think it’s time to dust off my gym bag and hop on the exercise bandwagon again. This Raya, I decided to treat myself to a brand new pair of running shoes which I have been eyeing since I began going to the gym in August 07.

Here, I’d like to introduce to you my very own Women’s Air Pegasus Plus Running Shoes.

Pegasus

Picture courtesy of the Lonely Planet

Mine looks slightly different from this one as it is a special edition Bowerman Series Pegasus. I bought the Nike+ series because I intend to buy the Nike iPod Sports Kit in the future (pix courtesy of Previewgadgets.com) which I can use with my Nano.

Ipod Kit

This is roughly how it works (read more here)

Anyway, my new running shoes look so pretty, I hate the thought of wearing it outdoors and ruining the soles. But that would defeat the entire purpose of my buying this pair of shoes in the first place, now wouldn’t it?

Anyway, I read in this month’s Self magazine that a workout journal can help me “get results lickety-split”. So, in conjunction with my new post-Raya 2008 workout plans, I will create a blog dedicated to my exercise regime and charting my fitness progress. I don’t have the url yet but I’ll keep you posted. Watch this space!

Leave a Reply

