me

Musabahah

{Warning: Cryptic blog entry. Comments off.}

This time last year was a roller-coaster ride for me. Allah tested my patience last Ramadhan like he had never done before. I was paranoid and on the verge of insanity. But thankfully, I hung on with every little bit of energy that I had left. It was hard but I’m glad everything turned out alright in the end.

I wouldn’t wish on anyone what I had experienced last Ramadhan. But if there is one thing that I learned, Allah will never give you more than you can chew. Although I don’t wish to be tested like that again, I’m glad that it happened because I learned a lot about myself and the people around me.

I came away from those dark days with the knowledge that people can change for the better. The best part about it is that the transformation happened on its own. I think that’s how it should be.

I prayed for this change to happen last year. I only saw it take place this Ramadhan, when I least expected it. This has made the transformation all the more sweeter. I prayed for something simple but what I got is above and beyond my expectation. I’m humbled by the powers of Allah.

The biggest test, I think, is once Ramadhan ends. Can we carry all the good work we’ve done this Ramadhan once Syawal appears? Or will we revert to our old and oh-so-enticing ways?

I worry about this but I don’t think I should worry about the future, something that is beyond my control. All I can do is pray and hope for the best. Allah will never give us more than we can chew.

