me

The new me?

I wanted to blog about something else but I completely forgot what it was after I saw NKOTB’s performance on the Today Show on youtube. I’m not gonna bother uploading it here because the video’s going to disappear from youtube by tomorrow afternoon anyway. It’s really annoying when that happens. Which is why I have resorted to quickly converting them to iPod format, so I can save ’em and watch them to my heart’s content 🙂 Aren’t I smart?

Oh yeah, now I remember what I wanted to write about. I just wanted to put on record that so far, I’m really enjoying this Ramadan. Granted, I’m sleeping lesser hours than I normally do. I sleep at 12am and wake up at 4.25am to help prepare sahur and I stay awake. I’m usually half dead by lunch time but I regain my focus after each prayer session.

Yes, praying helps (I think we all know that) and I have taken the opportunity this auspicious month to start doing it regularly. So far so good. I haven’t done any tarawikh yet but I take part in solat berjemaah during subuh and maghrib with the family now since the first day of the month. That’s a big deal for someone who can go for months without saying the kalimah syahadah. Believe me, that’s a H-U-G-E improvement for me.

It may not be a big deal for other muslims but praying together as a family has made this Ramadan extra special for me. I actually look forward to it.

My husband and I are not regular visitors to the prayer mat but this past week, he’s been the one reminding me to do my 5-times-a-day quota. Like the other day, I was ready to just sleep after watching CSI: NY but he told me to do Isyak before I hit the sack.

I like that. Believe me, I’m usually the one who has to nag him to do stuff. I think this “role revearsal” is very sexy. In the words of Paris Hilton, “That’s HOT”. I mean, who would’ve thought that performing your religious duties can be a turn on?

Ok. That was too much information.

Well, the challenge is to keep it up way after the fasting month. Would I be able to keep it up? I hope so. I hope the prayers that I say five times a day will see that this becomes a way of life for me. Insya-allah.

Anyway, I’m going to watch that youtube vid one last time before I hit the sack. I have an early day ahead.

Night and selamat berpuasa!

Leave a Reply

