me

Saving skin

It amazes me that I keep on getting questions about mineral makeup from my blog posts earlier this year and mid last year.

The questions are generally about where to buy the product and whether it clogs my pores and causes acne.

The first question is the easiest to answer. I just point them to the website and recommend that they get the free sample. The second question is a bit tricky.

As my blog title suggest, I believe in telling the truth and nothing but the truth. I want to make it clear that while I can’t say that using mineral makeup has cleared up my skin, I can’t blame my acne on it either.

I have acne-prone skin. Acne is in my genes. So, I’ll be battling acne for as long as I’m menstruating. That’s something I have come to terms with.

But I would have to say that my acne problem has gone from bad to better. Much better, if I do say so myself. I think it is partly age – I’m 30 – and partly the technological advancement in beauty products. Over the years, I notice that some products really agree with my skin.

I swear by Garnier PureA Anti-Imperfection Scrub Wash. It has been voted Best Acne Scrub by Cleo Malaysia for at least two years in a row now. At one point, it was both my facial wash and scrub. While it helped with my skin a lot, I still get acne. See what I mean?

Recently, my husband bought himself Mentholatum Anti-acne Face Wash for Men. He has oily skin (but not acne-prone, he just gets the occasional zits) and I think the product has made his skin less oily. I’ve started using it too and I think it also agrees with my skin. It has Witch Hazel and Olive Oil extracts. Now, I’ve used products with Witch Hazel before, even those with Tea Tree Oil but they tend to make my skin dry and taut. But I think that this product combined with my facial scrub and moisturiser, I’m good.

Speaking of moisturisers, I started using Olay Total Effects two years ago and I’m really happy with it. Although many people swear by it, I wasn’t able to use Olay (or Oil of Ulan) when I was in my teens because the cream moisturiser was too rich for me. It made my skin too oily then. But with technological advancement in the anti-ageing range, I’ve used this range with no problems.

I bought Cleo September issue just now and it came with a free 30ml sample of Olay White Radiance. It’s an intensive whitening lotion with SPF24. I’m not really a fan of whitening products simply because I’m more concerned about keeping my skin acne-free than making it fairer. I mean, I’d rather have clear, tanned skin than pimply fair skin.

But I did my internet research and found a review on epinions. The reviewer claimed that Olay White Radiance (in combination and oily skin formula) helped his/her acne-prone skin.

Jimilyn wrote:

Hmm… I’m a bit skeptical about that. A skin whitening product that keeps the pimples away? Sounds too good to be true. But I have faith in Olay products, so I’m going to give this free sample a try. I normally just keep these free samples until they turn bad (and then I actually have to discard them) but I think I’m actually going to try this one till the last drop.

If it improves my skin, great! If not, at least I have a moisturiser with SPF24 (Total Effects only comes with SPF15 protection).

3 thoughts on “Saving skin”

  1. I’ve been having spots lately and looks like it’s going to be a normal occurence, so I’m going to get ProActive stuff, I’ve been told that they really work!

  2. I tried ProActive Solution before but my skin doesn’t respond well to Benzoyl Peroxide, an ingredient used in PrAS. Hope you’ll have better luck than me 🙂

  3. I was wondering the same, about the pimples that is. I’ve tried whitening before, because I’m prone to sun damage. I’m a river rafter, so the damage is pretty bad. Recently, I tried the Olay UV SPF19, and yeah, all the sudden, my skin is way clearer than before.

    The thing is this: It is possible to break out from from dry skin. The theory is when the skin is dry, the oil glands will over produce and that sebum or whatever is what will cause acne. It’s very possible, especially if you’re an adult acne 30 years older, to clear your acne with a simply moisturizer. The skin must be brought back to balance.

    So even if you’re in your twenties, if your skin feels like paper after a wash, moisturize and see what happens. If you breakout anyway, it might be a sign that you’re too oily or you’re still in the hormonal phase of growing.

Leave a Reply

