me

Another reason to lose that last two (or four) kilos

I know a girl who makes it her life mission to find the cheapest clothes she can get her hands on. She hates parting with her hard-earned money, especially for clothes, and takes pride in finding fashionable clothes at a bargain.

Some may call this being tight fisted but I call it being money smart. After all, it’s just clothes. Why would you want to spend hundreds of RM for something that may be out of fashion in a few months’ time?

But the problem with ridiculously cheap clothes — I’m taking about a RM15 dress here — is that they rarely come in size L or size 12, if you catch my drift.

Take Comma for example. It sells great stuff for relatively low prices. But the tops are ridiculously tiny. If you’re busty, good luck trying to button your top. If you have jiggly arms, pray very hard that your arms can fit into the sleeves.

My friends and I swear that clothes sizes have gotten smaller over the years. (Either that or we’re in denial of the weight we’ve gained :-P) But seriously, I swear that a size L now was an M in the 1990s.

My point is, unless you’re a size 6 and below, you’re going to have a hard time finding bargain clothes which fit you.

That’s why I’ve pretty much resorted to clothes bought from Bandung because they are sold at factory outlet prices. But even then you won’t always be lucky. My mom-in-law bought so many t-shirts the last time she was there and most of them only fit my skinny sister-in-law who is 14 years old, about 5 foot 3 and (I estimate) weigh about 50kg. The rest were too snug on me (I’m 5 foot 1 and a size 8 or 10) and my other sister-in-law who’s slightly taller and probably a size 10/12.

Like it or not, this is one of the perks of being within your ideal weight. When you’re more slender, you’re more than likely to fit better into your clothes and buy them at more affordable prices.

Even if money is not an issue with you, shopping as a plus-sized individual in Malaysia can be challenging and frustrating. A friend of mine had spent hundreds of RM on “fashionable” clothes from a plus-size brand before. Despite the high prices, she says the quality is questionable. I’ve gone on a shopping trip with plus-sized friends before. You don’t know the true meaning of “not being able to find anything you like” unless you’ve gone shopping with them. It was a humbling experience for me, I can tell you that.

After that, I added a new reason to my existing list of why I exercise regularly. I exercise because

1. I want to lose weight

2. I want to have a healthy heart and strong bones

3. I want to buy and fit into cheap clothes 😛

1 thought on “Another reason to lose that last two (or four) kilos”

  1. Hey, I’ve got tons of cheap clothes (thanks to Primark) but nothing beats having quality wardrobe. If I were you, I would invest in a small, but timeless and long lasting wardrobe instead. I’ve bought clothes from Comma but they don’t keep well, grrrr.

Leave a Reply

