me

Tummy diaries

[Caution: I discuss my toilet habits in this entry. If you’re the queasy-type, you may want to skip this]

I was at Guar*dian (the pharmacy) the other day, looking for a bottle of probiotics/acidophilus dietary supplement. I had run out of my Cal*trate calcium supplements, which I had been taking for my IBS. Occasionally, I would pop a pill or two of immo*dium, for days when urgently needing the toilet or “lepaking” in a cubicle waiting for my stomach to “settle” is not an option. 

I could’ve bought myself another box of the calcium supplement but I wanted to give a probiotic/acidophilus supplement a try. I could only afford one or the other – that’s why I didn’t buy both.

I saw the brand that I wanted to get but it was way beyond my budget. As I was contemplating to get a cheaper alternative, the promoter came and made her sales pitch. Normally, I would politely listen to her, excuse her observation about my acne-prone skin 😛 and then politely decline. But the product that she was promoting – a combo pack – was on promotion and definitely cheaper than buying a box of the same product.

So I decided to take her advice. It wasn’t exactly what I wanted but it does the same job.

What I purchase was natural Factors Papaya & Pineapple DigesAid chewable (known as the stuff from hereafter) which apparently contains natural digestive enzymes. Studies have shown that “older people have lower quantities of natural digestive enzymes than younger people do”.

To properly digest your food, you need digestive enzymes. If you eat cooked and processed foods, you are using up your natural supply of digestive enzymes. So, as you age, digestion becomes more difficult for your body. 

I have been taking the stuff (one after each meal) since Wednesday and I think I’m seeing some positive results.

For one thing, I started taking coffee again. Decaf coffee to be exact. Many IBS-sufferers identify coffee as their trigger drink. I tried decaf coffee last weekend and I didn’t double over with stomach pain/cramps after that. I had a cup again this morning and I was fine. In fact, I was sure that I would have “the runs” right about now because of the extremely hot kuah masak lemak cili padi I had for lunch. I normally avoid having pedas food but this one I had by accident. I didn’t think the kuah would be make-me-cry pedas. But alhamdulillah, I’m fine.

On Saturday, I ate practically the whole day. I had chicken sandwich for breakfast, J Co donuts for lunch, shared a Carl’s Jr mushroom beef burger with my husband (Carl’s Jr’s burgers are heeuge!) for tea and nasi goreng pataya for dinner. But thank God, except for the toilet trip I made as soon as we reached Sunway P, I didn’t need to do No 2 at all when I was at the mall. (Because of my IBS, overeating normally makes me go do No 2 within an hour of having a meal).

Last week, when I stopped taking the calcium supplements, I felt sharp stabbing in my stomach in between meals – a sign that I need to eat – and I had cramps. These are symptoms that left me when I was taking the calcium supplements regularly.

Those symptoms have somehow stopped after I started taking the stuff. I think this is really great as I was beginning to worry that I’d be too dependent on Immo*dium pills. I don’t want to be too dependent on anything, especially if it’s not natural.

But having said that, my stomach acted up a little on Friday. I had to do No 2 twice in 2.5 hours. I had an event that day (which started relatively early) and having to go to the loo twice in less than three hours was a little inconvenient when I was hitching a ride with someone. Lucky for me the person understood and had no problem waiting for me. Thanks, we (my stomach and me) appreciate it *lol*! But I was fine for the rest of that day.

Well, I hope that this stuff will continue to work and, in the long run, make me a “regular” person, in ways more than one hehehe. If you have gastrointestinal problems like me, you may want to give this supplement a try. This stuff tastes sweet like, well, papaya and pineapple. But in two minutes or so, the taste would be gone. This is the time that I start chewing it. I suppose with regular intake, you will see the health benefits too.

1 thought on “Tummy diaries”

  1. Hi Suzie…

    The DigesAid chewables…
    can you let me know the brand…

    i went to a pharmacist…it’s also DigesAid….from Canada….
    but don’t know whether it’s the same like you’re taking….

    thanks!!

    Jules

Leave a Reply

