me

You’re a superstar, that’s what you are

If you were wondering what happened to the singing contest which I was supposed to enter, wonder no more. The media night was cancelled. A member of the organising committee rang me on Tuesday – the day the preliminary round of the contest was supposed to happen – to tell that the event has been postponed “to a later date”.

The best part is, I already knew about it from my friend. Perhaps the girl who rang me was surprised that I didn’t sound shocked at all. Why would I be shocked? I had a gut feeling that the contest would be scrapped the moment I saw the T&C on the contest form. But, I have to hand it to them – I didn’t expect the whole shindig to be cancelled!

Well, at least I learned a new song to add to my portfolio. I’m going to learn another song called Jalan Cinta from the Ayat-Ayat Cinta soundtrack next. It’s a brilliant song which has a Middle Eastern influence. It reminds me of The Mummy movies and Alanis Morissette’s Uninvited. I was told that it’s sung and written by Sher*ina Mu*naf, the same little girl (now perhaps in her late teens) who did a duet with Wes*tlife on I Had A Dream not too long ago. I’m really impressed with how much she has grown musically. I didn’t think much of her little girl voice then but now, I think her vocals have matured well. Good for her.

Ok. What else is new about me?

Well, I’m getting used to my new phone. Secretly, I’m gutted that I can’t video myself sing with the new phone, so I can’t post any video on youtube for my “fans” {don’t I sound pretentious?}. Believe it or not, I have received requests from strangers to do a few songs Marsha Londoh’s Untuk Terakhir Kali (love this song) and Dato’ Siti Nurhaliza’s Menanti Pasti (hate it!). The first request came four months ago, and I feel quite guilty for not “getting cracking”. The only thing stopping me, really, is a lack of video recording device.

Well, actually, I do have a digital camera… and I can put it on a tripod and record myself…Hmmm… that’s an idea…maybe later…or rather AFTER I actually practice these songs *lol*

Well, that’s enough blogging for today. Before I forget, I want to take the opportunity to wish Princess HAPPY BIRTHDAY! I wish her a lovely year ahead.

Leave a Reply

