me

Preparing for my big night

If there’s one thing I hate doing, it is learning a new song.

It’s ironic because I love to sing. Since I started working, I have entered several singing contests for those in the media industry. It’s one of those things that I happen to be good at. I’ve won a few times. Maybe not the top prize but first and second runner-ups.

So, anyway, I’m learning a new song right now in preparation for a singing competition happening next Friday. It’s organised by Organisation X, based in Shah Alam, in conjunction with its media appreciation night.

I was excited when my colleague called me two Fridays ago telling me that a cool RM3k awaits the first-place winner. However, my excitement died the following Monday when I saw the T&C of the contest. True, prizes for the top three singers include cash + hampers + F&B vouchers. BUT(there is a big but here) the cash goes to the sports club of whichever media organisation the winner comes from, hence why contestants are supposed to provide the name and contact number of the sport’s club president. WTF????

I’m all for singing for charity but I wouldn’t exactly call my company’s sports club a “charity”. I doubt that the sports club is “needy”. I’m very concerned about where that money will actually go.

So, I’d be an idiot to enter the contest and win, right? Really, why should I even bother?

Heh… I speak as if I’m absolutely sure that I’m going to win. I don’t even know whether I’ll make it pass the prelims *lol*. Well, you have to be in it to win it, right?

Whatever it is, it does not make sense to me that they’d actually insist on that condition. It seems that no one I told this understands it either.

Another discouraging factor is the fact that the singers are supposed to find their own minus one. I can tell you from experience that it is difficult to find minus one songs. You have to pay a lot of money to get  composers to make you a minus one version of your favourite songs ( I call them “lagu cari makan”). When I called the organiser to ask if karaoke cds are also accepted, the person on the other line said that they accept only minus one because they don’t want people to be looking at the words. “We want to make it like a real singing contest”. Apa, dia ingat ni rancangan Jangan Lupa Liriks ke?

So, feeling rather dissatisfied, I consulted my friend who happens to work for the Organisation X. Unfortunately, she is not involved in the committee. She told me that the committee comprise maybe 4 people who had conveniently left everyone else in the department out of this project. So my friend only knew the details of the contest from me.

I told my friend that if they stick to this silly T&Cs, they’re not going to have enough people even for a preliminary round (which was suppose to happen right now as I type this). And true enough, my friend YM-ed me saying that the prelim has been postponed to Tuesday. I later got a call from the liaison officer confirming it.

I really had half the mind to just blow the contest – despite the fact that the lifestyle editor personally came to speak to me to ask if I was competing. If I don’t show up at the prelim, what’re they going to do about it, right?

But my friend who works with Organisation X persuaded me to. And I’m doing in a large part FOR her. She said that she’ll have a word with the committee about their terms and conditions. She said that the committee listened to what she had to say and indicated that they will make some changes to it.

I hope they’ll let the winners keep the cash. Who couldn’t use an extra RM1k or RM3k? After all, it is a CONTEST and if you want to entice people to take part in a contest, you’ve gotta dangle the carrot. I’m sorry, but in this day and age and times of hardship, gift hampers ain’t just won’t do!

So, I guess the postponement is good news for me. At least it gives me more time to practice my song, Ayat-Ayat Cinta by Rossa.  I’m proud of myself for being able to learn this song from scratch in a matter of two days. I mean, I had never heard of the song until last Monday when my friend suggested it to me when I asked if she has any CDs with minus one.

I started learning the song when I was at the gym yesterday evening. I had the song on repeat. When I came home, I practised the song without looking at the words. I messed up a couple of times and had to make up my own words (and this is what I’ll do on stage if I have to!) But come Sunday, I’m positive that I would have learned the song by heart. By Tuesday, I would have perfected my song and showmanship as well *lol*

Wish me luck!

P/S: I was able to sing the full lyrics without looking at the words. Six times. Yay!)

1 thought on “Preparing for my big night”

Leave a Reply

