me

Not as we

Eight months ago, a House fan posed a question on Yahoo! Ask about the title of the Alanis Morissette’s song which appeared in the second half of an episode she saw the night before. Today, I was googling for the same answer!

Anyway, it’s called Not As We, a break up song about how someone has to refer to himself or herself as I and not We now that he or she is single.

I heard it last night during the scene when House contemplated suicide by plunging a pocket knife into an electrical socket because he wanted to know if there was “an afterlife”. A patient who swore that the 97 seconds that his heart stopped was the best 97 seconds of his life had got him curious. In the end, he decided to do it but had half the mind to page one of his new interns to come to the rescue before doing it. So typical of House!

Apparently, the song had been played during another scene in House before. Something to do with Catherine saying goodbye to House. I think I remember that episode and scene but I don’t recall the song at all.

Anyway, it’s a really beautiful song. Definitely one for my iPod.

Leave a Reply

