me

Must be my lucky day

I better blog this before I forget. Because this could be my luckiest day in weeks.

It started as a day of delays and waiting. For eg, I knew what were in store for teachers today (Teachers’ Day) on Wednesday but couldn’t write about it because it was embargoed.

Today, on the final proofreading day, I had to wait until 6pm to know if the good news was announced as what I had been told. By 6pm, I was already in Penang.

But despite the waiting, my day was starting to look good. At the airport, a system failure forced many people to form long queues. The four of us had almost missed our flights due to a miscommunication. The outcome? Three of us got upgraded to business class!

When the steward served me my drink, I thought he was going to hand it to me. Instead, he placed a coaster on the flat surface between me and the next passenger and put my drink on it. That’s service at the business class.

Then, the stewardess asked me if I wanted anything else to drink. I said, warm water please. And she went on to ask if I’d like some sandwiches. Nice, sedap sandwiches ok! And then we got to get off the plane before everyone else, as soon as the aircraft door opened! That was supercool!

We got stuck in traffic on the way to the hotel. But when we got there, the hotel blew us away. It was so hip! The hotel lounge looks like the inside of a cool club in Miami (like from CSI: Miami *lol*) Even the check in counter looks like the counter at a trendy bar.

The standard room has twin beds, free broadband and ultra-modern interior decorations. Check out the picture here ->
http://www.penang-hotels.com/g-hotel/rooms.htm

The day culminated with a scrumptious dinner of all-you-can-eat seafood BBQ. It was such a nice experience that I felt adventurous enough to try a mocktail, which I haven’t done in quite a while.

Anyway, it’s late and I’mma call it a day. I have a long day ahead of me tomorrow. I hope it’s going to top today. But if it doesn’t, it’s okay. I know I’ll be okay.

Leave a Reply

