blogs

I’m just travellin through memory and I don’t wanna cry

I am listening to some of the studio versions of the performances by Idols Season 7. I just have three words: Oh.My.God.

I know I said that I didn’t get David Cook’s version of Always Be My Baby. I’M TAKING THAT BACK! The studio version is da bomb, ok! *The live version is still ho hum to me.

Idols and Mariah Carey

The Top Six Idols posing with Mariah Carey. I think Jason is dead chuffed (happy/proud) that he got to stand next to Mimi. Well, he deserves the pimp spot for his “cool” remake of I Don’t Wanna Cry.

I’m also loving Jason’s Memory, which is way better than the live version. I’m not sure if this makes sense but it sounded just how it is suppose to sound. Just right. I also can’t get his rendition of Dolly Parton’s Travellin’ Through out of my head. He sounds like Taylor Hanson the most in this song. He sounds cute doing this number and like he enjoys it immensely. A little nasally maybe but definitely cute. I believe Hanson — which he probably grew up listening to — was and still is a big influence to him.

David Archuleta’s Think of Me is also meletup (da bomb) and Jason’s I Don’t Wanna Cry is near perfect. I say near perfect because there is this very noticeable imperfect note during the bridge which sounded jarring. I don’t know why AI let that imperfection slip. I mean, this is the studio version, emphasis on the word studio. So, what’s the point of calling it a studio version if you can’t make it perfect, right? Having said that, I love the little personal touches Jason has put on the song. It’s ironic that he nailed the falsetto parts and fell flat on that itty bitty note.

Now that I have discovered the studio versions of my favourite songs, from now on I’m going to make my judgement based on the studio versions.

If anyone is interested, you can download live and studio versions of songs performed by your favourite Idol at new-music-now.blogspot.com. It’s a godsend, really.

Well, I had better stop gushing about the Idols and resume my work. Tomorrow’s another working day and I had better be prepared for it.

P/S: I spent Saturday night at Guoman Port Dickson Resort. Had a family gathering in PD. We didn’t plan to spend the night there but decided to get a room because it would’ve been too tiring to drive back after the gathering. Woke up on Sunday morning to a very beautiful view of the pool and beach. It’s nice to go to the beach once in a while.

Leave a Reply

