American Idol

Bye bye carly, we’ll miss you!

I haven’t been THIS excited about a male American Idol contestant since Elliott Yamin (and that was about two years ago). So, here, I’d like to introduce you to Jason Castro, the dreadlocked cutie.

To be honest, I’m not digging the dreads much but with his good looks (aren’t those the most amazing blue eyes you’ve ever seen? Ok, stop gushing!), Jason can totally pull it off. Anyway, I heard that he washes it — quote: “It’s still hair, it still stinks” — so as long as he does that, I’m fine 🙂

Jason’s hotness is pretty hard to ignore but initially, I tried not to like him because I thought he was another good looking guy who is pretty good with the guitar but can’t really sing. Arguably, Jason is not the contestant with the strongest voice but he more than makes up for it in talent.

Jason Castro Mariah

Jason (and his two fans in tube tops from left) were elated that Simon loved his personal touch to Mariah’s “I Don’t Wanna Cry”

I loved how he changed Mariah’s I Don’t Wanna Cry to suit his style; made me see Somewhere Over The Rainbow in a completely new light; made me fall in love for folky songs like Hallelujah and Daydream. What I love most about him is that how unassuming he is. He’s genuinely surprised when the judges praise him but he doesn’t sulk or try to come up with a smart retort when judges, like Simon, criticise him. The fact that he’s goofy makes him more endearing. So he doesn’t sound very smart during interviews, so what? He’s simple and clueless in a cute, Kellie Pickler sorta way, ya know what I mean? At least the boy has talent and creativity and none of the diva attitude.

So yesterday I downloaded his songs from AI and also his own song and a cover of Crazy which he did for his auditions. I’m not feeling his own composition so much — he must have written that when he was younger because it wasn’t very polished melody or lyrics-wise. But Crazy was quite good. For the first time, thanks to Jason, I was able to catch what they lyrics were.

I hope he gets to go to the Top 3. If he gets kicked out after then and ends up as the second-runner up, I’m happy. At least then he’ll be like my other Idol, Elliott Yamin who also got into the Top 3. In some ways, Jason is like Elliott. Talented but unassuming and down-to-earth. Quirky and goofy yet endearing. Can you tell that I really like Jason and Elliott yet? 😛

Anyway, I just got the good news that Jason is through to the Top 5 and Carly Smithson, the Irish girl gets to go home. It should’ve been Brooke White you know…. she fumbled so many times… it’s not fair to the rest who did better but have to go home just because they have less fans. Sigh.

I’m predicting it’s Syesha’s turn next. It’s a shame because she has improved so much. But something tells me she doesn’t get that many votes.

Anyway, please, please, please let it be David A + C and Jason C in the Top 3 (I’m thinking two weeks ahead now)!

BTW, what’s the theme for next week? Better not be something as hard as this week’s!

Later!

Leave a Reply

