exercise, US

Save the last dance for me

I bought Denise Austin’s Fat Burning Dance Mix last Chinese New Year on a whim. I was in Speedy in Ipoh Parade and I just felt like getting myself a new workout dvd. The dvd stayed in the tv cabinet drawer until I picked it up on Saturday.

Denise Austin

It was so much fun, it didn’t feel like I was doing much of a workout safe for the fact that I was drenched in sweat by the end of two 10-minute dance sequences. I managed to follow the dance moves well although my room is pretty cramped right now with boxes (I’m shifting house in a few weeks). The lack of free space in my room was the reason I put off trying out this dvd.

Anyway, I don’t need to worry about fitting in running on the treadmill at work anymore because on crazy-busy days, I can just wake up a little bit early, pop this dvd for 30 minutes and dance away. I fully intend to continue my 30-minute walk/run intervals at the office gym but dancing for 30 minutes on busy days sounds like a good alternative to me. If I’m sweating (i.e exerting myself) as hard from dancing as I do from walking/running, should it matter what I do to stay fit? I didn’t think so.

Anyway, I found another inspirational blog today. The site is called Running For Two and the blogger is Lisa Jhung, a pregnant runner who is in her third trimester. I suppose in the States, I shouldn’t be surprised if I happened to run into a runner with a really noticeable bump. I’m sure the idea of a pregnant runner is scandalous in good ol Malaysia but if these mothers were runners in the first place, why shouldn’t they continue doing it in their pregnancies (if they are fit enough)? If and when I am pregnant, I would like to stay active too. I don’t think I’ll be running but you can expect to see me on the treadmill doing my regular brisk walking on an incline.

Oh well… that is if and when I do conceive…. *sigh*

It’s late and I better get some rest. I wanna wake up bright and early tomorrow to fit in some dancing, Pilates and a little bit of work before I head out the door. Later!

Leave a Reply

