exercise, yoga

Gymming at work

Yesterday I went to the gym after about a week of break. It felt good to be able to run for a full 5 minutes. I did two sets of running at speed 7 and incline 2. I brisk walked for another 10 minutes at speed 5.6 and incline 2. After that, I did about 20 squats while leaning on a stability ball on my back. I hate doing squats — I hate lunges more — so doing the beginner’s version (with the support of a stability ball) makes it more bearable. I figured it’s better to do SOMETHING than nothing. I also did some bicep curls. I should learn more strength training moves using free weights because I think my arms are neglected. I have yoga and pilates which work my lower body and running largely works my legs. If not for the vigorous hand pumping that I do when I brisk walk and run, I don’t think my arms get a lot of workout.

Today, as I was entering the details of my workout yesterday on Selfdietclub.com, I remembered that I had actually registered for the Self Challenge which started Monday (my birthday!). So I also recorded my workout there. It says that I burned more than 160 calories from the walking and running yesterday – yay!

And oh, I weighed myself yesterday and I am — surprise, surprise — 55kg. That’s down by 1.5kg from the last time I stood on the scale. I really have no idea what I did or how I did it because I missed gym for a week, remember? Anywho, I’m ecstatic, of course! I just have half a kg more to my target weight which is 120lbs (I am now 121lbs). After that, I just need to concentrate on toning up, which would lead me to gain muscle weight. But if I look less flabby than now, who cares what the number on the scale says? 🙂

Anyway, the other day I had a mini revelation. Jennifer Love Hewitt is a size 2 and has an estimated 25-inch waist and a 35-inch hips (according to Glamour US Feb 08). My waist is just 4 inches wider than hers and my hips 3 inches wider, could that possibly make me just (an American) size 4? Woohoo! I’m a (possibly) size 4!

Why was Glamour printing her stats, anyway, you ask? They wanted to put some perspective on Jennifer – a size 2 – being called fat when pictures of her wearing a bikini on the beach was plastered all over the WWW. I don’t think she’s fat. How can she possibly be fat as a size 2? It’s ridiculous.
Having said that, I know where the tabloids were coming from when they made that “she’s fat and here’s proof” claim. From the picture printed, her butt and her thighs appear disproportionately larger than her upper body. I mean, her arms look toned (like she lifts weights), her stomach was flat (not washboard flat but flat) but her butt looked saggy. I don’t know if the picture had been doctored or what but saggy was the word that came to mind when I saw the picture.

It’s possible that JLH concentrates more on her upper body and hates doing squats, lunges and all those necessary evils of keeping a perky tush. Maybe she uses great underwear (Hanes, I presume) all this while. But that’s her business, not mine.

All I know is I’m no Ghost Whisperer and I can’t afford underwear that lifts my tush for me. So I have to rely on the old fashion way – running, walking up flights of stairs and walking on an incline on the treadmill. It’s a pain, yes, but if you hate lunges and squats, these are your best bets to maintaining a bikini-bottom worthy buns.

Personally, I’m not concerned about whether my butt is tight or not. I can’t swim and I rarely find myself on the beach so it’s unlikely for me to be prancing around in my swimming suit anytime soon.

I’m just happy to know that taking the stairs often have enabled me to walk up three floors with my heavy hand luggage at the SA airport without losing my breath and walking up to the fifth floor without breaking a sweat when the lift broke down when I went karaoke-ing the last time. And the best part is, I get a tighter tush (from all the walking) without even trying!

JLH in her blog urged women with curves to go out and put on their bikinis and wear them proudly. But you know what I think? I have a strange feeling that the next time she gets photographed in her bikini, her bottom half will look suspiciously toner than before. What do you think?

1 thought on “Gymming at work”

  1. You just reminded me of the Self challenge which I signed up too after you forwarded it to me. Just updated my workouts and will check out the food diary later. The challenge looks interesting, thanks.

Leave a Reply

