exercise

Hit the spot

After I wrote the previous blog entry, something dawned on me. I was nicely preaching to other people to get fit and there I was sitting on my butt reading success story after success story. Sure, they were awe-inspiring but unless I actually get off my butt to exercise, I won’t be anywhere near being like them.

So I popped the Denise Austin’s Pilates Hit The Spot (PHTS) dvd I bought yesterday into the player and chose four 10-minute workouts targeting my abs and waistline; thighs; butts and core. Boy, I didn’t expect to sweat the way I did 😛 Some of the moves look deceptively easy but they definitely “hit the spot”.

I’ve seen both Austin’s pilates videos and those on youtube demo-ed by personal trainers to models. But I have to say that Austin’s videos take the boredom out of pilates. Pilates lovers may disagree but there is nothing fun in curling your body like a ball and rolling back and forth. Ouch!

I like that I didn’t even have to roll once while doing Austin’s PHTS. I also dare say that this video is much, much easier that her Pilates For Every Body, which requires a chair and resistance bands. When I was doing this video, I remembered thinking that the exercises which required the resistance band was difficult to do. Maybe it was because my band wasn’t stretchable enough so some of the moves were quite impossible to do. But then again, I have always preferred using my own body weight as resistance. I’m happy that PHTS doesn’t require any accessory at all.

J and boss each bought Austin’s Personal Training System but they haven’t tried the video. I’m curious to know what they think of Austin’s style of training. I personally love her.

Anyway, I’m going to read the reviews on this video and other new ones by Austin. Later!

Leave a Reply

