driving

How can I forget…

to be blog about my 30-minute driving lesson a week ago!

One day, on the way back from work, my husband decided to surprise me with a short driving lesson. It really felt like a pop quiz! I thought I wasn’t prepared for it – heck I couldn’t remember which was the break paddle, clutch paddle and the acceleration (?) paddle. I wasn’t joking. After a short reintroduction, I was actually driving the car, going over road bumps, curves and all.

My husband got really frustrated when I was slow to pick up speed after each bump. What did he expect? It was my first lesson in, oh I don’t know, three years? He’s really impatient that way. I think, if he could, he’d want to take me straight to the roundabout or something 😛

But I learned one useful tip. When slowing down for a bump, lower your gear and immediately go back to the previous gear after you pass the bump. I’m sure this is a no brainer for drivers out there *lol*

We circled that housing area something like 7 times before calling it a day. I’m sure he thought I sucked but I thought I did pretty decent. I mean, there were cars parked by the road side and there were cats playing outisde and I didn’t hit them! I think that’s an accomplishment, don’t you? 🙂

I was quite scared to start driving again but now I’m looking forward to my next lesson. It also feels good to know that my husband – who rarely lets anyone drive his car (not even his brother), actually trust me (this non-driver) with it. 🙂

Later!

Leave a Reply

