family

Red, creme and golden ribbons

This weekend has been most productive. I was up until 2.30am last night, tying maroon, creme and golden ribbons on small bamboo boxes filled with dates/kurma. I went to sleep when I couldn’t concentrate anymore and then woke up again at 5am for bersahur. I continued with the ribbon-tying until 9.30am. Woke up again at 1pm and went downstairs to repeat the routine. We finished tying the last ribbon on the last box at close to 5pm.

Exactly why have I been staying up tying ribbons all noon and night? On Friday, my mom-in-law (who runs a small corporate gift’s business) received orders for 1k of those boxes to be filled with dates. The orders have to be delivered by Monday. It took about six people on different “shifts” to finish it.

It was a lot of work and it was tiring. But it was also therapeutic – it actually cleared my mind. It gave the family a lot of bonding time. We shared personal problems, anecdotes, ghost stories and gossips as we looped the ribbons together. It felt like a scene from “How to make an American Quilt” – except that we weren’t making a quilt!

The orders are slowly pouring in and since the siblings are mostly away in college, that means that my “expertise” is sorely needed. I’m not very good with my hands and I am slow – I’d only manage to finish tying ribbons on ONE box when others have finished three – but I try my best. Like I always do. I always make sure I produce quality job. I may be slow but at least I’m not sloppy!

Anywho, I better get organised for tomorrow. Am planning to wear my new green top (from Message, S Pyramid) I bought on a whim on Saturday after my assignment (!) with my cigarette pants which I bought at a second-hand shop at Amcorp Mall for RM10. Together, the two pieces look oh-so-mod. All that is missing are platform heels or a pair of black or grey flat ballet pumps – but I don’t have those. Guna my black heels je lah.

P/S: Watching the season finale of CSI:NY and surprise, surprise Lindsay and Danny are sharing a bed. Peyton just asked Mac to follow her to London for a holiday. And some 1r1sh terror1st are after their drugs. or something. Nampaknya from next week onwards, I am stuck watching my least favourite CSI Miami.

Leave a Reply

