blogs

A beautiful love song


You may not agree with me but I think this song, Si No Te Hubiera Conocido, a duet between Christina Aguilera and Luis Fonsi, is THE best love song since Endless Love (Lionel Richie/Diana Ross or Luther Vandross/Mariah Carey)

If you’re wondering why you have never heard of it before, that’s probably because it is in Spanish. That and also because a video of the song was NEVER made. This YouTube video is, as you can see, created using Fonsi’s and Aguilera’s other videos with Si No Te Hubiera Conocido as the background music.

I first heard this song when I bought Aguilera’s Spanish album, Mi Reflejo, which was released after her My Reflection album. (Mi Reflejo is My Reflection in Spanish, if you were wondering).

This album has sentimental value for me. I listened to this album on my Sony discman every single day (for a good month or two) on the way to work in 2001. At the time, I was staying with my sister in Flat Sri Angkasa and I travelled to work by bus, 46D to be precise. Believe it or not, til today I can sing some of the songs — yes, Genie in a Bottle (Genio Atrapado) and Come on Over (Ven Conmigo) in Spanish — by heart, imperfect pronunciation notwithstanding 😛

I love all of the songs in the album but this, and another ballad called Contigo en La Distancia, are my favourites.I can listen to the two songs on repeat the whole day. I swear!

Believe it or not, I don’t know how the Fonsi looks like until today, watching this video. *Thank god for YouTube eh?* But I have always thought he had a good voice.

I’m going to post Contigo en La Distancia after this. Hope you’ll take the time to watch them because they are beautiful, beautiful songs indeed. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

