blogs

I’m stuck on you

It’s official. I am hooked on facebook.

I checked my facebook profile five times today alone. That’s bad isn’t it? But it’s so much fun! On facebook, you can have food fights, rare fish in your aquarium (forget what I said about raring fish in this post), dedicate songs to friends and even get yourself a stripper name(bizarre but true!).

Now, I am contemplating saying adios permanently to that stupid, annoying myspace. Why I keep it til today is a mystery even to me. But I have been communicating with my cousin-in-law through it lately (because he likes it there), so that’s one small reason to keep it (for now).

I have half the mind to persuade my husband to create his facebook account. But I have a feeling he won’t like it much there. I’ll just let him discover it for himself.

A bad example of a facebook profle (mine looks so much nicer, I swear!)

example of facebook profile

Speaking of “discoveries”, someone had made a comparative study on the demographic of users of myspace and those of facebook. It was found that, and I quote:

Facebook and My Space attract different American teenage social classes a research project has revealed. Facebook attracts the more educated young adults while the users of My Space tend to finish high school and start working.

You can read the rest of the findings here. It’s very insightful!

Well, I’d like to think that I am “the more educated young adult” (especially the young adult part *lol*) but one doesn’t need to go to college to see what utter chaos myspace has become. You have to visit a myspace profile to see what I mean. Frankly, I don’t understand why myspace ever became bigger than friendster. The idea is just absurd to me. But apparently Americans love it. But not all Americans do (refer to quote below):

I started on myspace. I can’t really remember why. I think my wife was using it so I decided to sign up. I hated it from when it started. Its just too ugly. It looks amateur. I’m a web designer so I get turned off by ugly sites. Its poorly laid out too. I still use it occasionally to send my wife dirty messages. A few months ago I signed up on facebook because my brother told me all our old high school friends were getting on it. Its more my cup of tea. Its well laid out, clean, nice to look at. The add-ons are great. Its amazing what you can do on facebook. I have to admit that almost everyone I know on facebook is well educated and nearly no one that I know on myspace has more than a high school diploma. ~ atroxodisse

Well, all I know is I am having fun with my new facebook account and so are other working adults in this article. And we all have to thank this young guy (pictured below) for it.

the boy behind facebook

Now, if you will excuse me, I need to check on my profile for the sixth time today before I go downstairs to make myself a hot cup of milo and get cracking on that story.

UPDATE:

If your addiction to facebook gets any worse, know that you can “pull the plug” like this guy has. Read his witty writing here.

Leave a Reply

